Ts&Cs apply
Seven Signs of Life: Stories from an Intensive Care Doctor (Paperback)
  • Seven Signs of Life: Stories from an Intensive Care Doctor (Paperback)
zoom

Seven Signs of Life: Stories from an Intensive Care Doctor (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 09/01/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Amidst a growing catalogue of medical memoirs, Seven Signs of Life stands out as a brave, luminously written testament of personal experience and deeply affecting wisdom, gleaned from the life-and-death frontier of Intensive Care. Insightful, moving and never less than human, as a senior clinician writing in the Irish Times puts it, ‘if [Aoife Abbey] is representative of an emerging generation of healthcare professionals, there is reason to be optimistic for the future of healthcare.’

'Heartfelt, honest, illuminating and wise' Julia Samuel, author of This Too Shall Pass.

Perfect for fans of This Is Going to Hurt.


Grief. Anger. Joy. Fear. Distraction. Disgust. Hope.

All emotions we expect to encounter over our lifetime. But what if this was every day? And what if your ability to manage them was the difference between life and death?

For Aoife Abbey, a doctor in intensive care, these experiences are part of the job - from grief when you make a potentially fatal mistake to joy when the ward unexpectedly breaks into song. Seven Signs of Life is Abbey's extraordinary account of what it means to be alive and how it feels to care for a living.

An insightful, tender and inspiring memoir that explores the reality of life on the NHS front line. 'Brilliant, compelling... A hugely life-affirming book' Mail on Sunday

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781784708474
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 202 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A brilliant, compelling account of what it is like to spend your days caring for patients "on the fringe of existence" ... A hugely life-affirming book. In between the many grim situations encountered on a daily basis, Abbey shows us moments of both joy and deep emotional connection -- Kathryn Hughes * Mail on Sunday *
Heartfelt, honest, illuminating and wise - a wonderful book that I would urge everyone to read -- Julia Samuel, author of Grief Works
A powerful glimpse into the high stakes of intensive care ...Above all this book is insightful about the grey areas where a doctor must go ... Some readers may be wearying of doctor memoirs. This one ... has a freshness and a sincerity that moved me. She is a gifted writer ... honest, compassionate, sensitive... [and] the doctor we would crave in our greatest need -- Melanie Reid * The Times *
Abbey's book stands out among the current crop of doctor-penned memoirs for its thoughtful, compassionate reflections on life in Intensive Care. Abbey presents the usual case studies with an unusual depth of feeling and evident love for those in her care. She may be in the earlier stages of her career, but the author writes with a maturity and vocational fervour well beyond her years. An unsung classic of the genre
A thoughtful and necessary book about a world all of us might inhabit at some point in our lives -- Rosita Boland * Irish Times *

You may also be interested in...

Whatever Next?
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Light We Carry
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Conversations on Love
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Madly, Deeply
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
I'm Glad My Mom Died
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Surrender
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Ukraine Diaries
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
In Wartime
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
This Much is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
And Away...
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agatha Christie
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Undoctored
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Spare
Added to basket
£28.00   £14.00
Hardback
Crying in H Mart
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
A Village in the Third Reich
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback

“This doctors account comes with honesty and much love”

This is an honest insight into the work of an Intensive Care Doctor and at the same time the prose is beautifully written. It is strongly evident the deep sensitivity and genuine care she has held for her patients... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Seven Signs of Life”

A beautiful account.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14
Charlotte Ferizolli

“What a fantastic insight into the following topics..”

Fear, grief, joy, distraction, anger, disgust, and hope.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.