Second Self (Hardback)
  • Second Self (Hardback)
zoom

Second Self (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 06/07/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Following a National Gallery conservationist who escapes into her work when faced with some enormous life decisions, this moving and quietly profound second novel from the author of Wet Paint is a stunning meditation on expectation, ambivalence and the search for truth.

When Cathy and Noah first got together neither saw children in their future. Eight years later, they're happily married - and Cathy isn't so sure.With Noah's tolerance for his wife's ambivalence waning, her widowed mother in a world of her own and her best friend yearning for a second baby, Cathy feels increasingly adrift.

Escaping into her work in the conservation studios of the National Gallery, she chips away at the layers of overpaint on a canvas from the collection. Will the discovery of an unexpectedtruth help her find the clarity she craves?

Second Self is a novel about confronting expectations, and learning to cope with the nagging, complex questions that shape a life. It's about minds and bodies at the mercy of natural forces and social pressure. Above all, it's an ode to big decisions, small, tender moments, and how we choose to be.

This poignant second novel from the author of Wet Paint is perfect for fans of Expectation and Sorrow and Bliss.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781398703032
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 535 g
Dimensions: 238 x 162 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A magnificent novel about big decisions, social pressures and finding clarity in the face of uncertainty. - Anna Bonet, THE I PAPER

Tender and acutely observed... Second Self is a moving exploration of the choices that shape a life. - Francesca Peacock, MAIL ON SUNDAY

A beautifully nuanced portrait of a woman at a crossroads. Hard recommend. - Catherine Jarvie, MARIE CLAIRE

Neat and quiet, this is a novel in which many women will be glad to find themselves reflected. - Stephanie Cross, DAILY MAIL

A poignant and beautifully written second novel exploring the expectations that life confronts us and the decisions we may find ourselves having to make. - GLAMOUR

Thoughtful... Ashby should be applauded for the nuance with which she portrays the choices available to women. - Alex Peake-Tomkinson, TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT

An elegantly subtle novel about motherhood, marriage and choice - I'm sure it will resonate with many. - Claire Powell, author of AT THE TABLE

A precise and moving novel about expectation, ambivalence and desire. SECOND SELF unravels one of life's big questions and asks what happens when two people change separately as well as together. - Abigail Bergstrom, author of WHAT A SHAME

SECOND SELF is a novel about love, art, and those monumental, impossible life decisions. At times meditative, at times heartbreaking, but throughout compassionate and nuanced. A thoughtful, tender novel that will resonate with many thirty-somethings and is sure to spark many a discussion among its readers. - Jenny Mustard, author of OKAY DAYS

I found SECOND SELF to be a thoughtful, tender and delicate consideration of life's choices; there's a beguiling simplicity to Chloë's considered, timeless and elegiac prose, and I know that this is a story of longing that will stay with me. - Huma Qureshi, author of THE THINGS WE DO NOT TELL THE PEOPLE WE LOVE

SECOND SELF deals with tricky subjects with kindness and generosity. Chloe writes with deep care for her characters and the troubles they face but also with a keen eye for detail, both physical and, acutely, emotional. - Lizzy Stewart, author of ALISON

SECOND SELF is thoughtful and beautifully formed and written in almost hypnotically perfect prose. About the big questions surrounding becoming a mother and being a daughter to ageing parents. A delight. I can't wait to read all of Chloë's work. - Kate Sawyer, author of THE STRANDING

SECOND SELF is a thoughtful exploration of one of the most difficult decisions a person can make. Ashby handles her material lightly and atmospherically. It feels like reading the secret thoughts of a dear friend. - Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, author of THE SLEEP WATCHER

An insightful, thoughtfully written year in the life of a woman who navigates her own and others' expectations. SECOND SELF is a tender read about contemplating and making decisions. - Margaux Vialleron, author of THE YELLOW KITCHEN

You may also be interested in...

The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Intermezzo
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Intermezzo
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket

“Compelling, thoughtful and exquisitely written”

I raced through this thoughtful, nuanced exploration of the motherhood dilemma - I found it powerful but understated, and beautifully written. I loved stepping into the world of art conservation and the symbolism... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: