Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Scorched Earth: The 7th DS McAvoy Novel - DS McAvoy (Paperback)
  • Scorched Earth: The 7th DS McAvoy Novel - DS McAvoy (Paperback)
zoom

Scorched Earth: The 7th DS McAvoy Novel - DS McAvoy (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 06/09/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Detective McAvoy investigates a murder and a missing person case in this dark and compelling thriller, for fans of Stuart MacBride and Peter May.

The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing.

The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure.

McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl.

But why would anyone not report a kidnapping?

And how far would someone go to get revenge?

The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473643123
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 213 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for David Mark * . *
There is a good array of villains, and Mark is impressive in his sensitive portrayals of the relationships between the principal characters at work and home. * The Times *
Aficionados of the grittiest, most trenchant fare love Mark's copper Aector McAvoy, who customarily moves in a darkly realised Hull. * Financial Times *
Mark's rich, distinctive prose style and damaged characters compel you to keep reading... shaping up to be an essential crime series * Crime Scene Magazine *
A brilliant read. * Sun *
In McAvoy, David Mark has created a big hero with a huge heart. His skill at weaving threads of light through the darkest fabric has rightly won him a legion of fans who like their crime fiction to be real and compassionate. -- Sarah Hilary
Truly exhilarating and inventive. Mark is a wonderfully descriptive writer and an exciting young talent. -- Peter James
Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order -- Geoffrey Wansell * Daily Mail *
More twists and turns than a corkscrew through the eyeball -- Val McDermid
To call Mark's novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting. Beautifully crafted, filled with flashbacks, horror, angst, and chilling detail, this one is his most complex and best yet. * Kirkus starred review *
Effortlessly blends the brutal and the tender, the dark and the light. Aector McAvoy is a true original. So is David Mark. -- Mick Herron, author of Dead Lions
Highly entertaining * The Sunday Times *
Breathtaking. Mark writes bad beautifully -- Peter May
The McAvoy series pulls off the double whammy of cracking characters and cunning plots. The big detective Aector McAvoy is so real and so loveable you want to have a pint with him, and the legendary Trish Pharaoh proves that a man can create an utterly compelling female character -- Anya Lipska

You may also be interested in...

Dark Sacred Night
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.00
Hardback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Fallen
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Panic Room
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Whispering Stories

“Suspenseful and totally exhilarating”

Having not read any of the other books in the series, I was unsure whether I was going to find this book an easy ride. Would there be too much information that I had missed? However, like with a lot of... More

Hardback edition
28th February 2018
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A well written and intriguing thriller!”

"Scorched Earth" by respected author David Mark is the seventh in the popular Hull based DS Aector McAvoy series. I'm new to this series of books and although the previous instalments also sound good, I... More

Hardback edition
2nd September 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.