Sawkill Girls (Hardback)
  • Sawkill Girls (Hardback)
zoom

Sawkill Girls (Hardback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 04/10/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." -Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth

"An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." -Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

FIVE STARRED REVIEWS

NAMED ONE OF YALSA'S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS

A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE

A LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD NOMINEE

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken-or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight...until now.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062696601
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 522 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Through this dank, atmospheric, and genuinely frightening narrative, Legrand weaves powerful threads about the dangerous journey of growing up female...an intensely character-driven story about girls who support each other, girls who betray each other, and girls who love each other in many complicated ways. Strange, eerie, and unforgettable." -- ALA Booklist (starred review)
"Legrand's lush and pensive prose matches the murky, dangerous, and beautiful island setting.... Rich and earthy horror." -- School Library Journal (starred review)
"This atmospheric, Gothic-flavored chiller, which mingles elements of dark fairy tales and outright horror... includes an asexual character and a beautifully wrought queer romance, [and] focuses on the power of female friendship and what it means to pit women against one another in fiction and in life." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Cinematically, gorgeously creepy and horrific, sliding between breathlessly suspenseful and disturbingly grotesque." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)
"Legrand accomplishes the kind of slow-building tension and mounting horror that will give readers night terrors. Read this book, then lock it in the freezer." -- Shelf Awareness (starred review)
"Part spine-chilling horror story and part coming-of-age lesbian romance... If you are looking for something to scare you awake at night, this is the book for you." -- Kirkus Reviews
"Claire Legrand tells an eerie, feminist horror story that's perfect for reading close to Halloween." -- Bustle
"With prose as fierce and uncompromising as its three main characters, SAWKILL GIRLS is a fresh and unflinching exploration of female friendship wrapped in a spine-tingling page-turner. Claire Legrand doesn't hold back--and you won't be able to put this book down." -- - Courtney Summers, New York Times bestselling author of Sadie
"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." -- Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth
"An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." -- Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species
"Old-school horror meets fresh, female-forward fury. Claire Legrand masterfully paints this island world of terror with a blood-soaked brush." -- Elana K. Arnold, author of National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of

You may also be interested in...

Shadow and Bone: Siege and Storm
Added to basket
Serpent & Dove
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Book 2)
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Dragon
Added to basket
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
This Poison Heart
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Megamonster
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood & Honey
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket

“A superbly written coming of age novel”

What a percect book for this type of year with the spooky, creepy and eerie sense you get whilst reading this book.
Strange things are happening on Sawkill Island girls have been disappearing over the years and no one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44

“The perfect diverse, feminist, spoopy halloween read!”

I received a proof copy from Harper360YA in exchange for an honest review.

Probably more of a 4.5-4.75 because there were a few questionable choices here and there, but overall, this book was everything I wanted. It... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“I highly enjoyed this”

I have to admit when I first saw all the hype for this book last year it failed to capture my attention and I didn’t really have any desire to pick it up but a few months ago I was going through the kindle app on my... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.