Sawkill Girls (Hardback)
  • Sawkill Girls (Hardback)
zoom

Sawkill Girls (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 04/10/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." -Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth

"An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." -Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species

From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken-or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight...until now.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062696601
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 522 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Through this dank, atmospheric, and genuinely frightening narrative, Legrand weaves powerful threads about the dangerous journey of growing up female...an intensely character-driven story about girls who support each other, girls who betray each other, and girls who love each other in many complicated ways. Strange, eerie, and unforgettable." -- ALA Booklist (starred review)
"Legrand's lush and pensive prose matches the murky, dangerous, and beautiful island setting.... Rich and earthy horror." -- School Library Journal (starred review)
"This atmospheric, Gothic-flavored chiller, which mingles elements of dark fairy tales and outright horror... includes an asexual character and a beautifully wrought queer romance, [and] focuses on the power of female friendship and what it means to pit women against one another in fiction and in life." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Part spine-chilling horror story and part coming-of-age lesbian romance... If you are looking for something to scare you awake at night, this is the book for you." -- Kirkus Reviews
"Claire Legrand tells an eerie, feminist horror story that's perfect for reading close to Halloween." -- Bustle
"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." -- Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth
"An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." -- Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species
"Old-school horror meets fresh, female-forward fury. Claire Legrand masterfully paints this island world of terror with a blood-soaked brush." -- Elana K. Arnold, author of National Book Award finalist What Girls Are Made Of
"With prose as fierce and uncompromising as its three main characters, SAWKILL GIRLS is a fresh and unflinching exploration of female friendship wrapped in a spine-tingling page-turner. Claire Legrand doesn't hold back--and you won't be able to put this book down." -- - Courtney Summers, author of Sadie and All the Rage

You may also be interested in...

Mary Poppins - The Complete Collection
Added to basket
The Magician's Nephew
Added to basket
The Magic Faraway Tree
Added to basket
The Chronicles of Narnia
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Horse and His Boy
Added to basket
The Letter for the King
Added to basket
Inheritance
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
Added to basket
The Magic Faraway Tree Collection
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“A superbly written coming of age novel”

What a percect book for this type of year with the spooky, creepy and eerie sense you get whilst reading this book.
Strange things are happening on Sawkill Island girls have been disappearing over the years and no one... More

Hardback edition
14th October 2018
Helpful? Upvote 4

“The perfect diverse, feminist, spoopy halloween read!”

I received a proof copy from Harper360YA in exchange for an honest review.

Probably more of a 4.5-4.75 because there were a few questionable choices here and there, but overall, this book was everything I wanted. It... More

Hardback edition
5th October 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Perfect to cosy up with!”

I absolutely LOVED this book! Brave and brilliant girls who fight for each other, a captivatingly eerie setting, a creeptastic monster, and gorgeous writing all combined to make this book an absolute winner! Perfect... More

Hardback edition
5th October 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.