Sarah's Key (Paperback)
  • Sarah's Key (Paperback)
zoom

Sarah's Key (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 07/02/2008
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The Multi-Million Copy International Bestseller

Released in 2010 as a major motion picture starring Kristin Scott Thomas, Sarah's Key is perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and All the Light We Cannot See.

'A remarkable novel. Like Sophie's Choice, it's a book that impresses itself upon one's heart and soul forever' Naomi Ragen, author of The Saturday Wife

Paris, July 1942. Sarah, a ten-year-old Jewish girl, is arrested by the French police in the middle of the night, along with her mother and father. Desperate to protect her younger brother, she locks him in a cupboard and promises to come back for him as soon as she can.

Paris, May 2002. Julia Jarmond, an American journalist, is asked to write about the 60th anniversary of the Vel' d'Hiv' roundup - the infamous day in 1942 when French police rounded up thousands of Jewish men, women and children, in order to send them to concentration camps.

Sarah's Key is the poignant story of two families, forever linked and haunted by one of the darkest days in France's past. In this emotionally intense, page-turning novel, Tatiana de Rosnay reveals the guilt brought on by long-buried secrets and the damage that the truth can inflict when they finally come unravelled.

Publisher: John Murray Press
ISBN: 9780719524523
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 208 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Sarah's trials are so riveting, her innocence so absorbing, the book is hard to put down * Publishers' Weekly *
Masterly and compelling, it is not something that readers will quickly forget. Highly recommended * Library Journal *
A gripping story of loss, family secrets and silence * Warwickshire Telegraph *

You may also be interested in...

The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Unsettled Ground
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
No One Is Talking About This
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“breathtaking”

I started reading this book in the evening, big mistake as i felt that i couldn't go to bed until i found out this little girls fate, with every page turn it was inspiring, heart breaking and thought provoking.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 73

“Sarah's Key”

Paris, July 1942: Ten-year-old Sarah is taken with her parents by the French police along with hundreds of other Jewish families in the dead of night. Thinking she will be back later Sarah locks her brother in a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 68

“A highly readable account of troubled times...”

This is a book which I loved, but which I thought had flaws. It's subject matter is the deportation of Parisian Jews to the death camps, and what became of those who survived and how they were affected. It is... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 56

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.