Some orders may be delayed by the current Coronavirus lockdown.
Visit our help page for further information.
Samuel Morse, That's Who!: The Story of the Telegraph and Morse Code (Hardback)
  • Samuel Morse, That's Who!: The Story of the Telegraph and Morse Code (Hardback)
zoom

Samuel Morse, That's Who!: The Story of the Telegraph and Morse Code (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 40 Pages / Published: 01/07/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Back in the 1800s, information travelled slowly. Who would dream of instant messages? Samuel Morse, that's who! Who travelled to France, where the famous telegraph towers relayed 10,000 possible codes for messages depending on the signal arm positions - only if the weather was clear? Who imagined a system that would use electric pulses to instantly carry coded messages between two machines, rain or shine? Long before the first telephone, who changed communication forever? Samuel Morse, that's who! This dynamic and substantive biography celebrates an early technology pioneer. Perfect for fans of Gene Barretta's popular inventor series.

Publisher: Henry Holt & Company Inc
ISBN: 9781627791304
Number of pages: 40
Weight: 400 g
Dimensions: 284 x 219 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An NSTA Best STEM Book of the Year
A Junior Library Guild Selection

"The text effectively explains how the invention works as well as how it came to be, and young readers and listeners just may be inspired to try some inventing of their own. An excellent, entertaining choice to highlight social-emotional skills, history, and STEM."--Kirkus Reviews

"The approach to Morse's story has lots of charm, and Ramon's digitally colored pencil illustrations leaven the square-jawed protagonist's travails with gentle touches of humor. A timeline, bibliography, trivia bits, and even a photograph of early nineteenth century women telegraph operators are included."--The Bulletin

"Who makes a great topic of a picture book biography? Samuel Morse, that's who! This is an excellent biography on a lesser-known figure; add to collections looking for inventors and makers. As it turns out, . . . amuel M - - - r . . . e was a predecessor of the maker movement."--School Library Journal

"Another accessible exploration of an instrumental figure in STEM. Ramon's illustrations complement the breezy tone as they map Morse's journey. Readers curious about Morse code, discussed briefly in the text, should check under the book's jacket . A fun, informative way to tap into historical inventions. "--Booklist

"A valuable lesson in grit and determination."--Horn Book

You may also be interested in...

David Bowie
Added to basket
David Attenborough
Added to basket
Survivors
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Stephen Hawking
Added to basket
You Are Awesome
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Greta and the Giants
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Lift the Flap Picture Atlas
Added to basket
Stories for Boys Who Dare to be Different
Added to basket
Busy London
Added to basket
£5.99
Board book
Feminists Don't Wear Pink (and other lies)
Added to basket
Marie Curie
Added to basket
Amelia Earhart
Added to basket
Emmeline Pankhurst
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.