Saltwater: Winner of the Portico Prize (Hardback)
  • Saltwater: Winner of the Portico Prize (Hardback)
zoom

Saltwater: Winner of the Portico Prize (Hardback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 16/05/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Saltwater heralds the introduction of a powerful new voice in contemporary fiction. With a sharp eye for millennial ennui and the shifting sands of class, Jessica Andrews’ coming-of-age tale spotlights Lucy, a working class Sunderland girl who wins a place at a London university. Giddy with the promise of metropolitan debauchery she soon begins to realise that it is harder to adapt to her new life than she first thought. A pulsating and immediate debut novel perfect for fans of Normal People.

When Lucy wins a place at university, she thinks London will unlock her future. It is a city alive with pop up bars, cool girls and neon lights illuminating the Thames at night. At least this is what Lucy expects, having grown up seemingly a world away in working-class Sunderland, amid legendary family stories of Irish immigrants and boarding houses, now-defunct ice rinks and an engagement ring at a fish market.

Yet Lucy's transition to a new life is more overwhelming than she ever expected. As she works long shifts to make ends meet and navigates chaotic parties from East London warehouses to South Kensington mansions, she still feels like an outsider among her fellow students. When things come to a head at her graduation, Lucy takes off for Ireland, seeking solace in her late grandfather's cottage and the wild landscape that surrounds it, wondering if she can piece together who she really is.

Lyrical and boundary-breaking, Saltwater explores the complexities of mother-daughter relationships, the challenges of shifting class identity and the way that the strongest feelings of love can be the hardest to define.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473682771
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 410 g
Dimensions: 223 x 143 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'It's a story told in short bursts of poetic prose, alive with the thrumming energy of a lost girl who wants to experience everything.' - The Express

'This book is sublime. It dares to be different, to look in a different way. Andrews is not filling anyone's shoes, she is destroying the shoes and building them from scratch.' - Daisy Johnson, author of Everything Under

You may also be interested in...

The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Foundling
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ghosts
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Saltwater”

Saltwater has an interesting circular narrative structure. Lucy comes from a not very happy family in Sunderland. Her father is an alcoholic, and she is in danger of following him. She leaves home for independence in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Addictive!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early copy, I admit at first I had looked at this book and thought why have I been sent this to review?
Does this look like something I had requested or would even enjoy? So I had... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 16
Emer ALittleHaze

“Hauntingly beautiful”

What a hauntingly beautiful reading experience this book was. It's written in extremely short chapters in a non-chronological manner that could so easily have felt too disjointed but magically it didn't: the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.