Salt to the Sea (Paperback)
  • Salt to the Sea (Paperback)
zoom

Salt to the Sea (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 04/02/2016
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Winner of 2017 CILIP Carnegie Medal.

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories...

Ruta Sepetys devoted three years of research into what still remains the worst maritime disaster in history, the sinking of the German military transport ship the Wilhelm Gustloff in 1945. Some 9,400 lives were lost.

Salt to the Sea picks up on four of those lives, a group of young people desperate to flee Germany by any means, even if this is a dangerously overcrowded vessel in a Baltic port.

Sepetys’ account is personal and unflinching. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

 Ruta Sepetys is the acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey.

 

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
ISBN: 9780141347400
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 277 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. -- Elizabeth Wein
A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history. -- Steve Sheinkin

You may also be interested in...

They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Holes
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Everything's Amazing (sort of)
Added to basket
The Girl With No Soul
Added to basket
All the Bright Places
Added to basket
Hotel Magnifique
Added to basket
Gilded
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Gay Club!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Radio Silence
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Firesong
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Fart that Changed the World
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
It's Behind You
Added to basket

“Harrowing but outstanding tale of refugees in World War II”

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
As a child I loved Ian Serraillier’s “The Silver Sword”, and was expecting something similar with this, but “Salt to the Sea” is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 98

“Salt to the Sea ”

This book follows four perspective - Joana, Florian, Emilia and Alfred. It is historical fiction based around the devastating event of the sinking of a ship known as Wilhelm Gustloff when it was hit by Russian... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 69

“Salt to the Sea”

Hands down the best book I have ever read in my life! Really good book but be warned… you will cry!

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.