Salt to the Sea (Paperback)
  • Salt to the Sea (Paperback)
zoom

Salt to the Sea (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 04/02/2016
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Winner of 2017 CILIP Carnegie Medal.

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories...

Ruta Sepetys devoted three years of research into what still remains the worst maritime disaster in history, the sinking of the German military transport ship the Wilhelm Gustloff in 1945. Some 9,400 lives were lost.

Salt to the Sea picks up on four of those lives, a group of young people desperate to flee Germany by any means, even if this is a dangerously overcrowded vessel in a Baltic port.

Sepetys’ account is personal and unflinching. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

 Ruta Sepetys is the acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey.

 

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
ISBN: 9780141347400
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 277 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. -- Elizabeth Wein
A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history. -- Steve Sheinkin

You may also be interested in...

Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
My Life as a Cat
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
Legendborn
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Future Friend
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Witches Steeped in Gold
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shadow and Bone: Ruin and Rising
Added to basket
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
House of Hollow
Added to basket
The Midnight Guardians
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Yearbook
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lies Like Poison
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Tangle of Spells
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Supertato: Bubbly Troubly
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

“Harrowing but outstanding tale of refugees in World War II”

I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
As a child I loved Ian Serraillier’s “The Silver Sword”, and was expecting something similar with this, but “Salt to the Sea” is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 88

“Salt to the Sea ”

This book follows four perspective - Joana, Florian, Emilia and Alfred. It is historical fiction based around the devastating event of the sinking of a ship known as Wilhelm Gustloff when it was hit by Russian... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 59

“Salt to the Sea”

Hands down the best book I have ever read in my life! Really good book but be warned… you will cry!

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.