Salt Slow (Paperback)
  • Salt Slow (Paperback)
zoom

Salt Slow (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 208 Pages
Published: 19/03/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Saturated in a kind of gothic magic realism, Salt Slow’s short stories are haunting meditations on the plasticity of the human form and the way that the uncanny can impinge on everyday life. The debut collection from an award winning writer, this is a book that will haunt and delight in equal measure.

Longlisted for the Polari First Book Prize 2020

Shortlisted for the Sunday Times / University of Warwick Young Writer of the Year Award 2019

The electrifying debut from the 2018 White Review Short Story Prize Winner

In her brilliantly inventive and haunting debut collection of stories, Julia Armfield explores bodies and the bodily, mapping the skin and bones of her characters through their experiences of isolation, obsession, love and revenge.

Teenagers develop ungodly appetites, a city becomes insomniac overnight, and bodies are diligently picked apart to make up better ones. The mundane worlds of schools and sleepy sea-side towns are invaded and transformed, creating a landscape which is constantly shifting to hold on to its inhabitants. Blurring the mythic and the gothic with the everyday, salt slow considers characters in motion - turning away, turning back or simply turning into something new entirely.

Winner of The White Review Short Story Prize 2018, Armfield is a writer of sharp, lyrical prose and tilting dark humour - salt slow marks the arrival of an ambitious and singular new voice.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529012590
Number of pages: 208
Weight: 156 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 15 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Salt Slow is exemplary. A distinct new gothic, melancholy, powerful and poised. - China Miéville, author of The City & The City

Unafraid to venture beyond realism’s limits, Julia Armfield refashions our contemporary existence as an eerie, care-worn dreamworld, taking our quotidian anxieties and desires and handing them back to us empathetically remade . . . Armfield is a significant, exciting talent. - Sam Byers, author of Perfidious Albion and judge of The White Review Short Story Prize 2018

This debut collection is both wild and wonderful, packed with mythical transformations that take place in the most ordinary of contemporary settings . . . vivid . . . visceral . . . marvellous. - Daily Mail

Reading this collection is the only thing you need to do right now. Reading this collection is the only thing you ever need to do. Armfield is an enormous, gut-wrenching talent. - Daisy Johnson, Man Booker Prize shortlisted author of Everything Under

Truly dazzling . . . Horror for the Instagram generation. There is a melancholy sense in reading such a wonderful collection of short stories and finding them so subtle, intelligent and imaginative. When I put the book down I wondered: will her first novel be as good? - Stuart Kelly, The Scotsman

These exquisitely written stories are like the quietly surreal lovechild of Anne Michaels and Julio Cortazar. Both moving and poetic, salt slow introduces Julia Armfield as a writer to watch and greatly admire. - Sharlene Teo, author of Ponti

The stories in this collection look at women’s bodies and their experiences in society with an eerie, otherworldly lense . . . For fans of Carmen Maria Machado, Sophie Mackintosh and Megan Hunter - Elle

Remember the name Julia Armfield as this will be the year that salt slow bubbles under then pops up everywhere on best-of lists and literary prizes . . . Visceral, perturbing and exhilarating. - Stylist

Writers should take risks and Julia Armfield does this fearlessly with stories that unnerve and delight in equal measure. There are echoes of Leonora Carrington and Carmen Maria Machado, but Armfield's distinct voice is her own: singular, visceral and eerie. A hugely impressive first collection. - Sinéad Gleeson, author of Constellations

Visceral, fierce and beautifully unsettling, Armfield's writing has an astonishing power. This collection haunted me with its brilliance. - Elizabeth Macneal, author of The Doll Factory

Her work has a timelessness to it, and a generosity of emotion that’s brave and affecting. - Chloe Aridjis, author of Book of Clouds and judge of The White Review Short Story Prize 2018

These are brilliantly addictive, barbed, illusive stories. Armfield creates a cleverly unsettling, iridescent world that we are all the better for entering. - Irenosen Okojie, author of Speak Gigantular

In the tradition of Kelly Link and Aimee Bender, Julia Armfield's salt slow places a surrealist lens on women's bodies, interactions and relationships to expose their mythic, metamorphic potential. Subversive in viewpoint, these stories achieve a simplicity and crispness of tone, setting and story that gives them the timeless, evocative quality of fables. - Caoilinn Hughes, author of Orchid and the Wasp

'Armfield’s debut introduces a significant new voice in contemporary writing; original and challenging . . . each story seems as strange and troubling as a dream; illogical and inevitable, and all the more powerful for that.' - The Herald

These short stories portray tender cruelties and macabre metamorphoses in wickedly clever prose . . . and a sense of humour that seems to loom up like a character in itself, having been lying in wait in a corner all along. - M John Harrison, Guardian

Thrilling . . . A writer whose next move you wouldn’t want to miss. - Observer

Filled with magic, insight, and a rare level of creativity that mark Armfield as a fresh new voice . . . Artistic and perceptive, Armfield's debut explores the ebbs and flows of human connection in lives touched by the bizarre. - Kirkus

You may also be interested in...

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
Added to basket
Short Stories in German
Added to basket
Short Stories in Japanese
Added to basket
Haunted
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Complete Short Stories
Added to basket
Don't Look Now and Other Stories
Added to basket
The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher
Added to basket
Angela Carter's Book Of Fairy Tales
Added to basket
A Winter Book
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Parallel Text: French Short Stories
Added to basket
Delta of Venus
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Complete Cosmicomics
Added to basket
Walk the Blue Fields
Added to basket
Miss Marple and Mystery
Added to basket
Dubliners
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Eerily entrancing.”

An unsettling and subtly horrifying exploration of the issues and fears created by modern society. Armstrong unveils the potential for menace lying beneath mundane interactions.

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Short Stories”

I don't often read short story collections so this book had sat in my to be read pile for quite a while.
I completely enjoyed them but my favourite has to be The Great Awake. I can certainly see why people are... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16
Nicole @hemelwstones

“A Great Collection of Short Stories to Get You Thinking.”

12 Show more
Review Really interesting discussions to make from each short story. Would highly recommend for book clubs looking for something a bit different as I am sure everyone will have a favourite & one that... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: