Safiyyah's War (Paperback)
  • Safiyyah's War (Paperback)
zoom

Safiyyah's War (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 06/07/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Katherine Rundell and Emma Carroll, Safiyyah's War is a riveting, deeply poignant period novel set in occupied Paris which finds the titular girl engaged in dangerous Resistance work after her father is arrested by the Nazis.

Shortlisted for the Yoto Carnegie Medal for Writing 2024

Winner of the Jhalak Children's & Young Adult Prize 2024

War comes to the streets of Paris and Safiyyah's life changes for ever. Her best friend's family have fled, and the bombing makes her afraid to leave the mosque where she lives. But when her father is arrested by the Nazis for his secret Resistance work, it falls to Safiyyah to run the dangerous errands around the city. It's not long before hundreds of persecuted Jews seek sanctuary at the mosque. Can Safiyyah find the courage to enter the treacherous catacombs under Paris and lead the Jews to safety?

Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781839133138
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 268 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"Written with rich detail about Paris and Islam, [Safiyyah's War] is a vivid tale of people finding courage, connection and empathy for each other" - The Sunday Times

"A heartfelt and tragically timely paean to religious tolerance" - TLS, Best Children's Books of 2023

"This story of heroism, shared humanity and hope cherished against long odds is so beautifully written it will be hard for any reader of 9+ to forget" - Guardian

"Luminous prose... a riveting read for children and adults alike" - New York Times

"Perfect reading for fans of Katherine Rundell and Emma Carroll, Safiyyah's War is a riveting, deeply poignant period novel" - Waterstones, July's Best Children's Books 2023

"A lyrical, spiritual book" - Jewish Chronicle

"Safiyyah's War has the soul of a classic and the urgency of a story for our times. A tale of tolerance, unthinkable bravery, and heart-in-mouth true events. I loved this book." - Kiran Millwood Hargrave

"All at once, Safiyyah's War broke my heart and filled me with immense hope. With its unforgettable characters and exquisite storytelling, this really is an extraordinary book" - A F Steadman

"Safiyyah is a protagonist I was rooting for all throughout; a lovely, kind-hearted girl whose story filled me in turns with despair and joy. This book shines through with kindness and empathy at its very heart" - Nizrana Farook

"This story of extraordinary bravery, based on little-known events, is both inspiring and uplifting" - The Bookseller, Editor's Choice

"A must-read distinguished by its powerful plot and poignant writing" - Kirkus, starred review

You may also be interested in...

Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Skandar and the Chaos Trials
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Howl’s Moving Castle
Added to basket
Dog Man 6: Brawl of the Wild PB
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Wolf Road
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

“A powerful and essential read for young and old - a hidden piece of history”

Hiba Noor Khan has written an incredibly moving and powerful story about a part of recent history that is truly unknown to most of us . In a world of islamaphobia and anti-semitism and divisions between people and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Stunning, powerful, devastating yet hopeful, reads like a classic”

I was lucky enough to receive a proof copy to review, & I absolutely ADORED IT! This is an important, beautifully told adventure bringing a forgotten moment in history to vibrant life. I knew nothing of the WW2... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Historical novel, a story I hadn't heard, amazing people”

I really liked the sound of this book. I enjoy historical novels and this was something I really knew nothing about. I ended up dreaming about what might happen next! The praise for this book by other authors is... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: