Running on the Roof of the World (Paperback)
  • Running on the Roof of the World (Paperback)
zoom

Running on the Roof of the World (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 01/06/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in the vivid Himalayan landscape of Tibet and India. Filled with friendship, love and courage, this young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for children aged 9-12.

There are two words that are banned in Tibet. Two words that can get you locked in prison without a second thought. I watch the soldiers tramping away and call the words after them. 'Dalai Lama.'

Tash has to follow many rules to survive in Tibet, a country occupied by Chinese soldiers. But when a man sets himself on fire in protest and soldiers seize Tash's parents, she and her best friend Sam must break the rules. They are determined to escape Tibet - and seek the help of the Dalai Lama himself in India.

And so, with a backpack of Tash's father's mysterious papers and two trusty yaks by their side, their extraordinary journey across the mountains begins.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781510102088
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 304 g
Dimensions: 203 x 150 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Daring kids, sidekick yaks, Himalayan setting - all the ingredients of a smashing adventure. * Abi Elphinstone *
A wonderful story of courage and hope. * Amy Wilson, author of A GIRL CALLED OWL *
A powerful, compelling story of hope, wisdom and compassion... * Steve Voake *
a cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people. -- Sarah Webb * Irish Independent *
This beautifully designed book is a richly atmospheric story of friendship, courage and survival. -- Anna McKerrow * BookTrust *
...a thrilling fable about hope, and the importance of holding onto what matters, no matter what. With its derring-do charm, and vivid sense of place, this follows in the tradition of classic adventure stories, and comes thoroughly recommended for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Lauren St John and Katherine Rundell. -- Joanne Owen * Love Reading 4 Kids *
With a cover that sings of sunrise and adventure, and inside pages that hold intricate print designs and hidden yaks, this is a beautiful book to own. An eye-opening and somewhat different read. * Minerva Reads *
...one of those stories that gives its young readers an honest understanding of some of the awful things that go on in the world, but balances that understanding with a narrative of survival and hope... -- Jill Murphy * The Book Bag *
This is a fantastic book which is relevant to today's crises: refugees, conflict and children growing up in war zones. Although there's danger, gruelling journeys and battles to survive, there is also hope, and hope is the essence of Tash's story. * Type Writered *
This is an excellent story it maintains a good pace throughout and is filled with insights into both Tibetan and Indian culture. * The School Librarian *
Running on the Roof of the World by Jess Butterworth is full of excitement and tension, and also gives you a glimpse of the culture and lifestyle of the people in the mountains. * The Hindu *
...an absolute page-turner and Tash was an amazing character full of spirit and determination. -- Evie - 11 * NG Kids (Reader Review) *
A story of adventure, survival and hope * Angels and Urchins *
A captivatingly classic adventure. * Love Reading 4 Kids *
A cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people. * Irish Independent (Weekend Review) *
There's inevitably a political element to the story, pitched at just the right level, but this is also an exciting adventures with vivid descriptions of the landscape. A story relevant to the world that we live in today, told with compassion and understanding. * The Guardian *
This is a wonderfully fast-paced read that's a celebration of courage and integrity in the face of danger, and the importance of standing up for what you believe in. * Scoop *

You may also be interested in...

Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children 2
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Boy Underwater
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Awful Auntie
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Stormbreaker
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Gangsta Granny
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Parent Agency
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
My Mum Tracy Beaker
Added to basket
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lightning Girl 2: Superhero Squad
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“You MUST read this!”

A truly beautiful and heartwarming story that had me captivated from the very first page. Packed full of culture, the world building in this book is exquisite and you really do feel like you are joining Tash and Sam... More

Paperback edition
24th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 37
Holly at Plymouth

“Bristling narrative with lovely poetic descriptions - a gripping story”

This wonderful story about two friends who flee Tibet and journey together to India to seek the help of the Dalai Lama, is a mix of snappy storytelling and blissful, poetic moments with a lot of delicateness and... More

Paperback edition
26th June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Stunning scenes, original style and a fantastic story of friendship.”

I devoured this book - not a long read, but a brilliant one.
One of the things I liked best about it was the description, which despite being fairly 'stripped back' was incredibly atmospheric, setting scenes... More

Paperback edition
2nd August 2017
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.