• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Grisha: Ruin and Rising: Book 3 - The Grisha (Paperback)
  • The Grisha: Ruin and Rising: Book 3 - The Grisha (Paperback)
zoom

The Grisha: Ruin and Rising: Book 3 - The Grisha (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 04/06/2015
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.

Soldier. Summoner. Saint.The nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

The Darkling rules from his shadow throne while a weakened Alina Starkov recovers from their battle under the dubious protection of the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Now her hopes lie with the magic of a long-vanished ancient creature and the chance that an outlaw prince still survives.

As her allies and enemies race toward war, only Alina stands between her country and a rising tide of darkness that could destroy the world. To win this fight, she must seize a legend's power - but claiming the firebird may be her ruin.


Praise for the Grishaverse:

"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian
"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair
"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent
"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book Reviews

Read all the books in the Grishaverse!

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy
(previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)
Shadow and Bone
Siege and Storm
Ruin and Rising

The Six of Crows Duology
Six of Crows
Crooked Kingdom

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781780621845
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 275 g
Dimensions: 198 x 131 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
In this absolutely STUNNING (I don't know what else to call it) conclusion to the New York Times Bestselling Trilogy, everything you know about this world and the things in it will change. Love, loyalty, friendship, survival, power, victory, and freedom - everything is at stake. And one broken saint, a disgraced tracker, and a whole gang of misfits and a prince without a throne are all that stands between light and dark. If you choose not to read this, you are missing out on one of the BEST series ever. The ending was absolutely stunning, the finale heart-breaking, the story so realistic. I'm actually going to need time to process what I've just read - READ IT! * The Guardian Online *
What an amazing ride the Grisha series has been! Brilliant, classic high fantasy on one hand and yet unique and unpredictable on the other. So many twists that I did not in the slightest see coming, and which developed or resolved situations perfectly. Genius storytelling revealing complete mastery of poor defenceless reader emotions as well as fabulous world-building and skillfull character development. Such a satisfying ending too - no mean feat to pull off, but she did it. If you're hesitating to finish this trilogy for fear it could let you down, stop messing about right now and get on with it. * Thoughts From The Hearthfire *
... an excellent end to one of the best trilogies I've read for a while. Hugely enjoyable reading. * The Book Bag *
... the final episode of the powerful and all-consuming The Grisha sequence -- Julia Eccleshare * Love Reading *
Ruin and Rising left me teary-eyed and contented. I didn't want to leave these characters and yet it just felt SO right. Everything came together and was revealed and resolved and it was just a perfect and beautiful ending and I couldn't have wished for anything more. Leigh certainly delivered. It did the series justice and lived up to its previous two books spectacularly. Thank you so much for sharing Alina's adventure Leigh. I, and many others I'm sure, are extremely grateful. Without a doubt: 5 stars! -- Laura137 * Guardian Teen Books *
A captivating and endlessly exhilarating story that knows no limits. Ruin and Rising is the breathtaking conclusion to the dark fantasy trilogy Shadow and Bone. This story has everything that you never imagined you would want and makes it even better than you could ever fathom. If you have not considered the books or haven't heard of them then I strongly recommend you do because they will fast become your favorite books. * Falling Books *
It's difficult to put the beauty of this series into words, as it has to be read in its entirety to be fully appreciated. The careful weaving of magic, fantasy and fairytale comes to a close with a finale that feels like the perfect ending for all involved. There are surprises galore and more than a few emotional, heart-wrenching moments, as the loose ends are tied up with graceful finesse. I cannot praise this series highly enough, so don't be deterred by the YA genre tag - it truly does appeal to all ages. * Book Chick City *
Praise for Leigh Bardugo: I was away on the ships and wandering through Ravka with Alina and Mal, I was on the receiving end of his kisses and his annoyances. I felt the sun warm the pages whenever Alina summoned and I felt the fear when The Darkling was around. There is nothing I don't love about the world in which the Grisha trilogy is set and I cannot wait until next year to see how this series is going to conclude. * Readaraptor *
Praise for Leigh Bardugo:Leigh is a writer of the best kind because she loves her characters and the world they live in and makes a reader jealous that they can't visit it. There is magic in these pages. * Sister Spooky *

Praise for Leigh Bardugo: I wrote a piece here gushing about why the Grisha series is so different and so special. There are many small reasons that all come together to create the awesomeness. But there are also many more that I can't even explain. Maybe it is different because it is just magic. It has the most exquisitely constructed world, the best-written characters, the most amazing writing and storyline. And it always always always leaves me desperate for more. It always leaves me aching, foaming at the mouth, for more: right now. And that, perhaps, is why it is so special. It is magic. It is beautiful. It is perfect.
Well, except for that cliffhanger. How am I meant to make it a whole year with that hanging over my head?!

* The Book-Addicted Girl *
Praise for Leigh Bardugo: Leigh Bardugo, you sure know how to involve your readers and make them an emotional wreck. Siege and Storm is an enthralling sequel that seriously ups the game and expectations of the reader. It is written so beautifully that is flows flawlessly while keeping the magic alive in the readers mind. If you want to read a fantasy series that has a truly unique world then read this series. * Read and Write and Read Some More *
Praise for Leigh Bardugo:...a strong and satisfying sequel solidifying my belief that The Grisha Trilogy will go down as one of my favourite series of all time. * Jess Hearts Books *
Praise for the Grisha trilogy: It is one of those series which as a YA reader is a must read. It is series which grabs hold of you by the neck and wrings every emotion out until you are a blabbering, quivering, drooling mess on your sofa. It is high fantasy at its best and I can guarantee that you will not regret picking up this book. * Escapism *

You may also be interested in...

Boy 87
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Girl, Missing
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
All the Bright Places
Added to basket
Love Simon
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Mortal Engines
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Upside of Unrequited
Added to basket
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Starfish
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
INK
Added to basket
INK
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
The Disappearances
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hazel Wood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Superb!”

An outstanding ending to one of my all time favourite trilogies. I am so impressed with this novel, especially since the last in the series of certain other trilogies have been so poor recently. This lived up to all... More

Paperback edition
19th August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 49

“Addictive”

Leigh Bardugo has out done herself once again in Ruin and Rising. A spell bounding book cover from cover couldn't put down! A great end to the trilogy that I never would have seen coming. Can't wait for the... More

Paperback edition
5th July 2014
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Fantastic Fantasy”

This final instalment in Bardugo's Grisha trilogy does not disappoint! Picking up after the events of Siege and Storm, our heroine Alina is in bad shape. With the third amplifier still to find and the Darkling to... More

Paperback edition
31st August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.