Rosemary and Rue (Toby Daye Book 1) - Toby Daye (Paperback)
  • Rosemary and Rue (Toby Daye Book 1) - Toby Daye (Paperback)
zoom

Rosemary and Rue (Toby Daye Book 1) - Toby Daye (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 05/11/2015
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The first instalment of the highly praised Toby Daye series.

The world of Faerie never disappeared; it merely went into hiding, continuing to exist parallel to our own. Secrecy is the key to Faerie's survival: but no secret can be kept forever, and when the fae and mortal worlds collide, changelings are born.

Outsiders from birth, these children spend their lives fighting for the respect of their immortal relations. Or in the case of October 'Toby' Daye, rejecting the fae completely. Toby has retreated into a 'normal' life - spending her nights stocking shelves at a San Francisco grocery store and her days asleep in her downtown apartment.

But when Countess Evening Winterroseis murdered, Toby finds herself drawn abruptly back into the world she thought she'd left behind. It's going to take everything she's got just to stay alive, and the stakes are higher than anyone has guessed . . .

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472120076
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Rosemary and Rue is one of the most successful blends of mystery and fantasy I've ever read - like Raymond Chandler by way of Pamela Dean. Toby Daye has become one of my favourite heroines, and I can't wait to read more of her continuing adventures. * - Tim Pratt, author of Dead Reign *
Well researched, sharply told, highly atmospheric and as brutal as any pulp detective tale, this promising start to a new urban fantasy series is sure to appeal to fans of Jim Butcher or Kim Harrison. * - Publishers Weekly *
McGuire knows her fairy lore, bringing the wonder and the danger of the fair folk to the streets of San Francisco so vividly you can smell the rose goblins. Action, intrigue, and a dash of romance make Rosemary and Rue a fun, engaging read. An impressive first novel that leaves you impatient for the second. * - Jim Hines, author of The Mermaid's Madness *

You may also be interested in...

Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Kingdom of the Cursed
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Caraval
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Iron Widow
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
A Deadly Education
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“A great new series”

A mix of urban fairyland and mystery, with a strong female character. I loved this.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 50

“A promising start to a fun series”

I’m not the biggest fan of books involving faeries. Angels and faeries are the two creatures I tend to avoid in fiction, but recently faeries and the fae have begun to claw their way into my brain which is probably... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Brilliant Urban Fantasy.”

The first instalment in a long running urban fantasy series (October Daye), well written, great story and with awesome characters!

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.