Riverkeep (Paperback)
  • Riverkeep (Paperback)
zoom

Riverkeep (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 28/04/2016
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Shortlisted for the Bookseller YA Book Prize 2017

Fifteen-year-old Wulliam is dreading taking up his family's mantle of Riverkeep, tending the river and fishing corpses from its treacherous waters. But then everything changes. One night his father is possessed by a dark spirit, and Wull hears that a cure lurks deep within the great sea-beast known as the mormorach. He realizes he must go on an epic journey downriver to find it - or lose Pappa forever.

Publisher: Penguin Random House Children's UK
ISBN: 9780141362038
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A cracking, startlingly original story . . . It would be an extraordinary book by any author - but it is Martin Stewart's first * Spectator *
Relentlessly brilliant . . . Stylish, precise, limitlessly evocative of landscape, atmosphere, guilt and terror . . . That he has packed enough detail, talent and skill in there for three books can hardly be a criticism. His characters lived for me by the end * Guardian *
Extraordinary . . . Stunningly original * Evening Standard *
A completely absorbing fantasy debut from a highly skilled writer * The Bookseller *
A brilliant fantasy read * Sunday Express *
Riverkeep is utterly engrossing. There are elements of Game of Thrones in the grittily realised violence; there is Gormenghast in the grotesque comedy; and it has the strange magic of Earthsea. The prose is by turns dense, sensuous, and funny, but never less than gripping. A superb debut novel -- Anthony McGowan, award-winning author of The Knife that Killed Me and Henry Tumour
Stewart's opening is both dramatic and touching, as fifteen-year-old Wull, reluctantly destined to succeed his father as the 'riverkeep', watches his own father disappear beneath the water when a freakish monster grabs him and takes him below. The writing is both visceral and highly visual. It's a remarkably assured debut . . . written by someone utterly confident in the reality of the world he has created and in the appeal of his characters * Herald Scotland *
One of my favourite debuts of the year so far * The Bookseller *
A truly extraordinary, rich and vivid debut. Martin has built a world and concocted a story you can get lost in - this is one of the most engrossing books I've read this year, and I loved every second of it. One for fans of Pratchett and Gaiman -- Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike
Stewart is being touted as the new star of fantasy fiction, and the subject of heady comparisons with his heroes Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman * Herald Scotland *
It's exciting; it's thrilling; it's emotional - it's a roller-coaster of a book which draws the reader right in and doesn't want to let you go * ParentsinTouch.co.uk *
Outstanding . . . Wulliam's world is richly furnished with lush language and wonderful words, despite him being a man of so few * Scotsman *
An utterly compelling and masterful young adult fantasy, Riverkeep swallows the reader whole from the first page, immersing them in its atmospheric, watery, ghostly world and keeping them gripped to the end. Highly recommended for any fan of Neil Gaiman, Philip Pullman or Ursula Le Guin * Booktrust *
An astonishing blend of the literary, the comedic, and the emotionally resonant . . . Marks the beginning of a remarkable career * WHSmith Blog *
Riverkeep is a stunning book and a must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Philip Pullman. It's dark and immersive with a rich mix of wonderfully complicated - and occasionally hilarious - characters in a dreamy, violent world. It'll sweep you up like a strange and dangerous river and you'll never want it to let you go -- Moira Fowley-Doyle, author of The Accident Season
Intense . . . As darkly comical as it is terrifying and violent. Stewart shows a dab hand at crafting memorable characters and thoroughly frightening opponents for them to face. A rich debut: Huck Finn meets Moby-Dick * Kirkus *
Filled with wild adventure and hilarious dialogue, this vivid, engrossing fantasy will delight readers * Publishers Weekly *
Remarkable . . . A rich and vivid fantasy world with a full cast of memorable characters and fantastical beasts * Scottish Librarian *
A stunning debut * Sunday Independent (Ireland) *
Exquisite . . . Martin Stewart's descriptions of Wull's world gripped in winter are brutal and beautiful, his monsters are terrifyingly plausible -- Rick Yancey * New York Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Witches
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Iron Man
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
Dork Diaries
Added to basket
Tom Gates: Random Acts of Fun
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Dog Man 8: Fetch-22 (PB)
Added to basket
Rooftoppers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Ways to Be Me
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
The Butterfly Lion
Added to basket
Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Hannah

“A brilliant fantasy quest that reads like a classic!”

This book is perfect for fans of an classical fantasy texts, from the Wizard of Oz to the His Dark Materials Trilogy. Wulliam is reluctant to accept his fate as the Riverkeep. The job is hard, unforgiving, and... More

Paperback edition
8 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 67

“Enjoyable enough for a fantasy reader”

I would agree with some of the other reviewers here, this book has a bit of everything and something more in between. All the mash-ups are popular nowadays, but sometimes it gets too overwhelming and a bit confusing.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 67

“Worthy of any minute devoted to its reading”

Wulliam is soon to be the new Riverkeep. At the age of 16, he will take his father’s job of making sure the river is passable; free of ice and the occasional body. However, his role comes sooner than anticipated when... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 51

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.