Revolver (Paperback)
  • Revolver (Paperback)
zoom

Revolver (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 23/04/2010
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Sig Andersson has a choice to make - use the gun or die. An unforgettable, razor-sharp psychological thriller set in the snowy wilderness of the Arctic Circle. Recipient of a Michael L. Printz Honor 2011, shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2010 and longlisted for the GUARDIAN Children's Fiction Prize 2010.

1910. A cabin north of the Arctic Circle. Fifteen-year-old Sig Andersson is alone. Alone, except for the corpse of his father, who died earlier that day after falling through a weak spot on the ice-covered lake. His sister, Anna, and step-mother, Nadya, have gone to the local town for help.

Then comes a knock at the door. It's a man, the flash of a revolver's butt at his hip, and a mean glare in his eyes. Sig has never seen him before but Wolff claims to have unfinished business with his father.

As Sig gradually learns the awful truth about Wolff's connection to his father, his thoughts are drawn to a certain box hidden on a shelf in the storeroom, in which lies his father's prized possession - a revolver.

As the stakes rise and Wolff begins to close in, Sig's choice is pulled into sharp focus. Should he use the gun?

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444000054
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 197 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A gripping thriller * THE GUARDIAN *
A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions. * KIRKUS REVIEWS, STARRED REVIEW *
Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale. * PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, STARRED REVIEW *
An elegant, brilliantly executed tale... This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length. * THE TIMES *
A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy. * THE HORN BOOK, STARRED REVIEW *
REVOLVER crackles with more razor-sharp tension and tightly coiled plotting than books twice its length * THE DAILY MAIL *
The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters. * SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, STARRED REVIEW *
?one of the finest and best-constructed page turners of the year? Tense, succinct, evocative and ingenious, and one to haunt you long after the summer is over? -- Nicolette Jones * THE SUNDAY TIMES *
An outstanding psychological thriller about the Arctic gold rush -- Fiona Noble * THE BOOKSELLER *
a powerful thriller... Tense, thought-provoking and original. -- Emma Lee Potter * DAILY EXPRESS *

You may also be interested in...

Megamonster
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
A Kind of Spark
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Grumpy Fairies
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Fear Street the Beginning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
There's a Unicorn in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
It's Behind You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
Oi Aardvark!
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

“Revolver”

I loved every message this book delivered to me within its captivating storyline. " A masterpiece of its own." The metaphors in this book are as great as the one trying to be portrayed on the cover,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 65

“Revolver”

This was the first time, as an adult, that I have ventured into the world of children's books (though with some of the content I'd prefer to think this was Young Adult fiction). I was immediately drawn into... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 61

“Revolver”

This is a thriller set in 1910. When Sig is left alone in the freezing log cabin with only his father's corpse for company he is able to reflect on why his father took that fateful shortcut home. Will the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 60

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.