Revolver (Paperback)
  • Revolver (Paperback)
zoom

Revolver (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 224 Pages
Published: 23/04/2010
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Sig Andersson has a choice to make - use the gun or die. An unforgettable, razor-sharp psychological thriller set in the snowy wilderness of the Arctic Circle. Recipient of a Michael L. Printz Honor 2011, shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2010 and longlisted for the GUARDIAN Children's Fiction Prize 2010.

1910. A cabin north of the Arctic Circle. Fifteen-year-old Sig Andersson is alone. Alone, except for the corpse of his father, who died earlier that day after falling through a weak spot on the ice-covered lake. His sister, Anna, and step-mother, Nadya, have gone to the local town for help.

Then comes a knock at the door. It's a man, the flash of a revolver's butt at his hip, and a mean glare in his eyes. Sig has never seen him before but Wolff claims to have unfinished business with his father.

As Sig gradually learns the awful truth about Wolff's connection to his father, his thoughts are drawn to a certain box hidden on a shelf in the storeroom, in which lies his father's prized possession - a revolver.

As the stakes rise and Wolff begins to close in, Sig's choice is pulled into sharp focus. Should he use the gun?

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444000054
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 197 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A gripping thriller - THE GUARDIAN

A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions. - KIRKUS REVIEWS, STARRED REVIEW

Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale. - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, STARRED REVIEW

An elegant, brilliantly executed tale... This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length. - THE TIMES

A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy. - THE HORN BOOK, STARRED REVIEW

REVOLVER crackles with more razor-sharp tension and tightly coiled plotting than books twice its length - THE DAILY MAIL

The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters. - SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL, STARRED REVIEW

¿one of the finest and best-constructed page turners of the year¿ Tense, succinct, evocative and ingenious, and one to haunt you long after the summer is over¿ - Nicolette Jones, THE SUNDAY TIMES

An outstanding psychological thriller about the Arctic gold rush - Fiona Noble, THE BOOKSELLER

a powerful thriller... Tense, thought-provoking and original. - Emma Lee Potter, DAILY EXPRESS

You may also be interested in...

As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Crimson Moth
Added to basket
The End Crowns All
Added to basket
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Book of Everything
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Heartstopper Volume 5
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
The Reappearance of Rachel Price
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Brothers Hawthorne
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Unravel Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One of Us is Back
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Revolver”

I loved every message this book delivered to me within its captivating storyline. " A masterpiece of its own." The metaphors in this book are as great as the one trying to be portrayed on the cover,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 68

“Revolver”

This was the first time, as an adult, that I have ventured into the world of children's books (though with some of the content I'd prefer to think this was Young Adult fiction). I was immediately drawn into... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 64

“Revolver”

This is a thriller set in 1910. When Sig is left alone in the freezing log cabin with only his father's corpse for company he is able to reflect on why his father took that fateful shortcut home. Will the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 62

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: