Revenger - John Shakespeare 2 (Hardback)
  • Revenger - John Shakespeare 2 (Hardback)
zoom

Revenger - John Shakespeare 2 (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 448 Pages / Published: 29/04/2010
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Revenger (John Shakespeare 2) For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, REVENGER is the fourth in chronological order of Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times 1592. England and Spain are at war, yet there is peril at home, too. The death of her trusted spymaster Sir Francis Walsingham has left Queen Elizabeth vulnerable. Conspiracies multiply. The quiet life of John Shakespeare is shattered by a summons from Robert Cecil, the cold but deadly young statesman who dominated the last years of the Queen's long reign, insisting Shakespeare re-enter government service. His mission: to find vital papers, now in the possession of the Earl of Essex. Essex is the brightest star in the firmament, a man of ambition. He woos the Queen, thirty-three years his senior, as if she were a girl his age. She is flattered by him - despite her loathing for his mother, the beautiful, dangerous Lettice Knollys who presides over her own glittering court - a dazzling array of the mad, bad, dangerous and disaffected. When John Shakespeare infiltrates this dissolute world he discovers not only that the Queen herself is in danger - but that he and his family is also a target. With only his loyal footsoldier Boltfoot Cooper at his side, Shakespeare must face implacable forces who believe themselves above the law: men and women who kill without compunction. And in a world of shifting allegiances, just how far he can trust Robert Cecil, his devious new master?

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781848540835
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 714 g
Dimensions: 240 x 157 x 38 mm

You may also be interested in...

A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
London Rules
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
End Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Damaged
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Munich
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Our House
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Gallery of the Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Relentless Tide
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Fascinating Tudor Tale”

Revenger won the 2010 Ellis Peters Award for historical crime fiction, and this series is fast becoming a serious rival to CJ Sansom’s Shardlake books in terms of fascinating Tudor detail and great storytelling.

At... More

Paperback edition
20th February 2011
Helpful? Upvote 44

“Who wants revenge & why?”

In the very useful lexicon Revenger is 'one who take vengence'
But just who is the Revenger of the title? Is it the power hungry Earl of Essex, the Queen's favourite. Is it the mysterious & ruthless... More

Paperback edition
5th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.