• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Return to Mandalay (Paperback)
  • Return to Mandalay (Paperback)
zoom

Return to Mandalay (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 576 Pages / Published: 22/05/2014
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Check Marketplace availability

An enchanting and exotic family mystery from the #1 Kindle Bestseller

'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat

'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis

'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best

**********

Eva Gatsby has often wondered about her grandfather Lawrence's past, and exactly what happened to him in Burma during the Second World War. But it is only when Eva's job as an antiques dealer suddenly requires a trip to Mandalay that Lawrence finally breaks his silence and asks her to return a mysterious artefact of his own - a chinthe - to its rightful owner.

As Eva arrives in Burma her mission soon proves dangerously complicated, and the treasure she is guarding becomes the centre of a scandal that will have far-reaching consequences. Caught between loyalty and integrity, Eva is determined to find the truth about her grandfather's past, of her own family origins, and of the red-eyed chinthe itself - enigmatic symbol of the riches of Mandalay.

********

SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY:

'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter

'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer

'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis

'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer

'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife

'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781782067627
Number of pages: 576
Weight: 383 g
Dimensions: 198 x 132 x 36 mm

You may also be interested in...

Tell Tale
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Ready Player One
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Added to basket
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
House of Names
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Circe
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Stars are Fire
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Added to basket
Reservoir 13
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Compelling read with beautiful descriptions”

Last year I read Rosanna Ley's stunning novel Bay of Secrets, which not only told a beautiful story but also enlightened me on a piece of history which up until that point was unfamiliar to me; The Lost Children... More

Paperback edition
13th May 2014
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Emotional book.”

I had to wake at 4am to read the last few chapters! Just couldn't wait any longer. (Had stopped reading at 11pm)

Lovely book, full of emotions: sadness, regret, joy, love, fear and tension.

I would have liked a... More

Paperback edition
20th May 2014
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Almost family history”

I must admit I have cheated - I actually read this book when I saw it in the local library. It made such an impression on me that I have bought a copy so that I can annotate it and leave it to my son as a part of our... More

Paperback edition
25th January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.