Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Return to Mandalay (Paperback)
  • Return to Mandalay (Paperback)
zoom

Return to Mandalay (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 576 Pages / Published: 22/05/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An enchanting and exotic family mystery from the #1 Kindle Bestseller

'The perfect holiday companion' - Heat

'The ultimate feel-good read' - Candis

'Sun-soaked escapism' - Best

**********

Eva Gatsby has often wondered about her grandfather Lawrence's past, and exactly what happened to him in Burma during the Second World War. But it is only when Eva's job as an antiques dealer suddenly requires a trip to Mandalay that Lawrence finally breaks his silence and asks her to return a mysterious artefact of his own - a chinthe - to its rightful owner.

As Eva arrives in Burma her mission soon proves dangerously complicated, and the treasure she is guarding becomes the centre of a scandal that will have far-reaching consequences. Caught between loyalty and integrity, Eva is determined to find the truth about her grandfather's past, of her own family origins, and of the red-eyed chinthe itself - enigmatic symbol of the riches of Mandalay.

********

SEE WHAT EVERYONE IS SAYING ABOUT ROSANNA LEY:

'An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end' - Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter

'Loved it from start to finish. A brilliant holiday read' - Amazon reviewer

'Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Victoria Hislop and Leah Fleming' - Candis

'On so many levels a fantastic read' - Amazon reviewer

'A fascinating story with engaging themes' - Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife

'Warm, enthralling, one of my favourite authors' - Amazon reviewer

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781782067627
Number of pages: 576
Weight: 383 g
Dimensions: 198 x 132 x 36 mm

You may also be interested in...

Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Olive, Again
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Olive Kitteridge
Added to basket
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket

“Compelling read with beautiful descriptions”

Last year I read Rosanna Ley's stunning novel Bay of Secrets, which not only told a beautiful story but also enlightened me on a piece of history which up until that point was unfamiliar to me; The Lost Children... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“Emotional book.”

I had to wake at 4am to read the last few chapters! Just couldn't wait any longer. (Had stopped reading at 11pm)

Lovely book, full of emotions: sadness, regret, joy, love, fear and tension.

I would have liked a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

“Almost family history”

I must admit I have cheated - I actually read this book when I saw it in the local library. It made such an impression on me that I have bought a copy so that I can annotate it and leave it to my son as a part of our... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.