Reputation (Paperback)
  • Reputation (Paperback)
zoom

Reputation (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 08/07/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Sweet and naïve Georgiana finds herself mixing with some highly questionable characters from the upper echelons of society in Croucher’s deliciously witty Regency romcom, perfect for fans of Bridgerton.

The hilarious debut novel from Lex Croucher. A classic romcom with a Regency-era twist, for fans of Mean Girls, Bridgerton and Jane Austen.

Abandoned by her parents, middle-class Georgiana Ellers has moved to a new town to live with her dreary aunt and uncle. At a particularly dull party, she meets the enigmatic Frances Campbell, a wealthy member of the in-crowd who lives a life Georgiana couldn't have imagined in her wildest dreams.

Lonely and vulnerable, Georgiana falls in with Frances and her unfathomably rich, deeply improper friends. Georgiana is introduced to a new world: drunken debauchery, mysterious young men with strangely arresting hands, and the upper echelons of Regency society. But the price of entry to high society might just be higher than Georgiana is willing to pay ...

This witty romcom about status, friendship, and first loves explores sex and consent in a time when reputation was absolutely everything, and feminism in a time when women's rights were a completely different story. It's full of lavish parties, handsome men on horseback and a sense of humour that would have given Austen herself a chuckle.

Publisher: Zaffre
ISBN: 9781838774110
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 326 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A spirited Regency romcom, which tears up the Regency romcom rulebook! If Bridgerton and Fleabag had a book baby, it would be Reputation. I inhaled it in one sitting * Sarra Manning *
I thoroughly enjoyed Reputation. I had so much fun reading it. It's a total blast * Louise O'Neill *
I absolutely loved Reputation. It's razor sharp, funny and I was totally hooked from the start. Definitely one for you if you screamed at the trailer for the Gossip Girl reboot * Laura Kay *
A fierce, fresh, feminist Regency romcom that is brilliant on friendship and fitting in. It is funny, surprising and deliciously romantic, and the dialogue truly shimmers * Cressida McLaughlin *
The perfect blend of period drama decadence with Mean Girls drama that had me compulsively reading late into the night. Lex's updating of Regency life for the twenty-first century reader is beyond entertaining. Reputation is everything I didn't know I wanted from a book; gossip, bonnets, breeches, and high debauchery with a feminist swing * Abigail Mann *
Reputation is hilarious and compelling, with a truly fresh take on Regency romance. The effervescent wit and cleverness had me laughing aloud, and the heroine's journey really touched my heart. If you're looking for something with the spirit of Jane Austen and the style of modern feminism, this is the book for you! * India Holton, author of THE WISTERIA SOCIETY OF LADY SCOUNDRELS *
Think of Bridgerton crossed with Sex Education and you have Reputation by Lex Croucher. Teenage Georgiana is bored with her proper genteel life, until she befriends the rich, charismatic, Frances Campbell who leads her down a path of drinking, flirting and parties - reminding us that the process of coming of age really hasn't changed for centuries. * Good Housekeeping *
There's nothing prim or proper about Lex Croucher's dazzling debut novel, Reputation, which is so boldly, audaciously modern in its portrayal of 19th-century mean-girl culture that I kept waiting for someone to inform the heroine that on Wednesdays, they wear pink. * Book Pages *

You may also be interested in...

Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Conspiracy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket

“Truly fun and Utterly Delightful!”

This book was the most fun I’ve had in such a long time. Lex Croucher perfectly captures both the voice and tone of an Austen novel, whilst adding a few modern touches of their own that make the story a delight to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12
Dan at Cribbs Causeway, Bristol.

“Regency just got a little more rebellious..”

Abandoned and left feeling rather like an outcast, middle class Georgiana Ellers has moved to a new town and for most it could be a place of new beginnings and perhaps the chance to reinvent herself were it not for... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Jane would be shocked and awed”

This book is all the naughtiness that Austen could never have imagined and all the funnier for it.
With a heroine who is only too human and so relatable, you can't help but fall in love with her, a number of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.