Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Remembrance Day (Paperback)
  • Remembrance Day (Paperback)
zoom

Remembrance Day (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 15/10/2009
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Lest we forget... A poignant tale of love and loss for fans of Nadine Dorries and Katie Flynn.

It's 2003 and at over 100 years old, Selma Dixon is the last link to the hidden truth behind her village's refusal to honour its war dead.

1914 saw the Yorkshire village of West Sharland send its men off to fight, including Selma's brothers and her sweetheart Guy. But when Guy is badly wounded and returns home on leave, the horrific reality of war is fully realised in the village.

Guy's mother, in a fit of protective madness, secretly sends Angus, Guy's identical twin brother who was medically unfit to enlist, back to fight in his place. But reckless and naive Angus is bitterly unprepared for war, and when his actions seal not only his fate but that of Selma's brother, Selma's life is changed forever.

Forced to start a new life in America, Selma is oblivious as to why her family's name is now mud. Until the past comes back to haunt her and the names of the dead must be spoken once more...

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9781847561039
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for The Girl From World's End and The War Widows:

`A beautiful, almost poetically-written tale of love and tragedy in the Yorkshire Dales mainly set during the Second World War. The characters are real flesh and blood and the reader shares their ups and downs with genuine empathy.'
Maureen Lee, bestselling author of Mother of Pearl.

`An epic tale of hardship and tragedy straddling the Second World War.'
The Bookseller

`A heartwarming read.'
Closer

`A compelling story, capturing the spirit of time and place.'
Lancashire Evening Post

You may also be interested in...

Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Librarian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Middle England
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.