Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Red Runs the Helmand (Paperback)
  • Red Runs the Helmand (Paperback)
zoom

Red Runs the Helmand (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 12/04/2012
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

A gripping adventure in which Mercer brilliantly brings to life the story of soldiers in the Second Anglo-Afghan War.

Anthony Morgan, now just appointed as general, has two of his sons, one his legitimate heir, one his bastard, both fighting in the ranks.

Morgan has arrived just as one of the rival princelings has begun to control Herat, and is determined to carve out some power for himself, and so embarks upon marching to Kandahar, determined to remove the British governor and take the city and province as his own kingdom.

Morgan's life is not made easier by problems with the other generals and in particular his own difficulties in dealing with the growing rivalry between his two sons.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007302772
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for To Do and Die:

'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail

`Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth. His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed'
Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn

`An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?'
Military Illustrated

`Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel'
Soldier magazine

You may also be interested in...

The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.