Red Burning Sky (Paperback)
  • Red Burning Sky (Paperback)
zoom

Red Burning Sky (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 03/03/2022
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A thrilling drama based on the true story of one of the Second World War's most daring and successful rescue missions.

Summer, 1944. Yugoslavia is locked in a war within a war. In addition to fighting the German occupation, warring factions battle each other. Hundreds of Allied airmen have been shot down over this volatile region, among them American Lieutenant Bill Bogdonavich. Though grateful to the locals who are risking their lives to shelter and protect him from German troops, Bogdonavich dreams of the impossible: escape.

With three failed air missions behind him, Lieutenant Drew Carlton is desperate for redemption. From a Texas airbase he volunteers for a secretive and dangerous assignment, codenamed Operation Halyard, that will bring together American special operations officers, airmen, and local guerilla fighters in Yugoslavia's green hills.

This daring plan - to evacuate hundreds of stranded airmen while avoiding detection by the Germans - faces overwhelming odds. What follows is one of the greatest stories of military heroism, an elaborate rescue that required astonishing courage, sacrifice, and resilience.

Red Burning Sky is a riveting and ultimately triumphant military thriller based on true events, all the more remarkable for being so little known - until now. Perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean, Jack Higgins and John Nichol.

Praise for Tom Young

'One of the most exciting new thriller talents in years!' Vince Flynn

'Gripping and impressively authentic' Frederick Forsyth

'Courage and honor in the face of the enemy have not been so brilliantly portrayed since the great novels of the Second World War' Jack Higgins

'A gutsy, gritty thriller told only as one who's been there and done that could write it... a terrific new writer' W.E.B. Griffin

'Young has a gift for allowing the reader to experience the emotional aspect of being a soldier... Military-thriller fans should make Young's work an essential addition to their reading lists' Booklist

'Like Tom Clancy, Young has an eye for detail about military equipment, operations, and thinking that will ring true with any veteran' General Chuck Horner, USAF (RET.), former Commander, U.S. Central Command Air Forces

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800328945
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm

You may also be interested in...

Life and Fate
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Odin Mission
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Levant Trilogy
Added to basket
Good Evening, Mrs.Craven
Added to basket
Das Boot
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Tin Drum
Added to basket
£15.99
Hardback
A Presumption of Death
Added to basket
Wheels of Terror
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Winged Escort
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Eagle Has Landed
Added to basket
The Tin Drum
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Good Evening, Mrs Craven
Added to basket
The Bronze Horseman
Added to basket
Two Brothers
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
From Here to Eternity
Added to basket
Monte Cassino
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Well done”

historical-figures, historical-places-events, historical-research, historical-setting, history-and-culture, family, family-dynamics, friendship, factions, facing-death, rescue, WW2, Europe, resistance-efforts,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.