• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Opt in by 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
REVIEW NOW
Reconciliation for the Dead (Paperback)
  • Reconciliation for the Dead (Paperback)
zoom

Reconciliation for the Dead (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 450 Pages / Published: 30/05/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Fresh from events in Yemen and Cyprus, vigilante justice-seeker Claymore Straker returns to South Africa, seeking absolution for the sins of his past. Over four days, he testifies to Desmond Tutu's newly established Truth and Reconciliation Commission, recounting the shattering events that led to his dishonourable discharge and exile, fifteen years earlier.It was 1980. The height of the Cold War. Clay is a young paratrooper in the South African Army, fighting in Angola against the Communist insurgency that threatens to topple the White Apartheid regime. On a patrol deep inside Angola, Clay, and his best friend, Eben Barstow, find themselves enmeshed in a tangled conspiracy that threatens everything they have been taught to believe about war, and the sacrifices that they, and their brothers in arms, are expected to make. Witness and unwitting accomplice to an act of shocking brutality, Clay changes allegiance and finds himself labelled a deserter and accused of high treason, setting him on a journey into the dark, twisted heart of institutionalised hatred, from which no one will emergeunscathed.Exploring true events from one of the most hateful chapters in South African history, Reconciliation for the Dead is a shocking, explosive and gripping thriller from one finest writers in contemporary crime fiction. For fans of James Lee Burke, Lee Child, Terry Hayes and Robert Ludlum

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781910633687
Number of pages: 450
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

Moskva
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Ice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Gray Mountain
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
You Don't Know Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Camino Island
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Whistler
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The 7th Function of Language
Added to basket
To Kill the President
Added to basket
Die Last
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Kane and Abel
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Head Of State
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Warlord
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Order to Kill
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Absolute Power
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Harrowing and brutal thriller set in Southern Africa”



This novel, based on true events during the 1980s in the Angolan war, deals with human rights abuses by both sides in this conflict. It also covers corruption and conspiracy in South Africa and Angola. The main... More

Paperback edition
28th May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 32

“Reconciliation For The Dead”

Reconciliation For The Dead is the third book in the series to feature Claymore Straker. I have only read the previous book The Evolution of Fear and this book being a prequel goes some way to explaining the reasoning... More

Paperback edition
23rd May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Simply Brilliant”

The final instalment of the Claymore Straker trilogy will leave you breathless, aghast and wishing that it were not a trilogy. Once again Paul E. Hardisty has researched and written a brilliant thriller and this time... More

Paperback edition
12th May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.