Raptor: A Journey Through Birds (Paperback)
  • Raptor: A Journey Through Birds (Paperback)
zoom

Raptor: A Journey Through Birds (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 23/03/2017
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011

A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald

Of all the birds of the British Isles, the raptor reigns supreme, sparking the imagination like no other. In this magnificent hymn to these beautiful animals, James Macdonald Lockhart explores all fifteen breeding birds of prey on these shores - from the hen harrier swimming over the land in the dregs of a May gale on Orkney, to the ghostly sparrowhawk displaying in the fields around his home in Warwickshire. This is a book that will change how we think of our own skies.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007459896
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Lockhart's prose is so intimate, urgent, and visceral as to make his darkly resonant ruminations almost unfailingly gripping' Independent

'A hymn in praise of living, soaring, terrifying grandeur ... his exquisite, poetic language is a sensuous delight without sacrificing scientific accuracy ... A tour de force' Daily Mail

'Lockhart puts the rapture back in the raptor. Raptor rips at its words, turning them into exquisite portraits of the utter wild, shaping soaring, obsessive beauty out of the British landscape and its imperial birds. A true heir to J.A. Baker's The Peregrine, and T.H. White's The Goshawk' Philip Hoare

'In Lockhart's soaring debut he laces vivid prose with illuminating facts ... He elegantly depicts these creatures of the sky and, in doing so, celebrates the natural richness of the country over which they fly' Financial Times

'If you publish a book on birds of prey in the tumultuous wake of Helen MacDonald's prizewinning H is for Hawk, you expect comparisons. James MacDonald Lockhart can relax. His book is outstanding ... Wild birds of prey represent the living spirit of a place- of Britain. In this delicate, complex, open-ended book, full of freshness and movement, he captures that wild spirit without ever making it feel captive' Sunday Times

'Lockhart brings out both the birds' ecstatic gifts of flight but also the tragedy and triumph of their predatory lifestyle... His descriptions are as precise as they are inventive' Observer

'Lockhart is stepping towards the distinguished company of the great modern literary books on birds of prey... The writing, at times, is as good as anything we have on the subject to date' Country Life

'His understanding of raptor ethology shines' Nature

'Any bird of prey fan will find it irresistible ... thoroughly recommended' BirdGuides

'Nothing prepared me for the sustained brilliance and intensity of this book ... Warm, intimate, full of wonder and delight in the ways the birds revealed themselves' Caught by the River

You may also be interested in...

My Garden World
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Adventures Of The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
RSPB Pocket Guide to British Birds
Added to basket
The Forager's Calendar
Added to basket
Celebrating the Seasons with the Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
The Hidden Life of Trees
Added to basket
Vesper Flights
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Living Planet
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Diary of a Young Naturalist
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
English Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Entangled Life
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Mushrooms
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
Natural History Museum Dinosaurs Annual 2022
Added to basket
The Almanac
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback

“Raptor”

This is a fantastic book, with each chapter focusing on a different British bird of prey. The book takes the form of a journey in the footsteps of the 19th century naturalist William MacGillivray, and heads from... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 88

“A poetic journey discovering the UK’s Raptors”

A journey that takes in the length and breadth of the UK to discover the fifteen different birds of prey in all their glory and their landscapes. Within the pages of Raptor: A Journey Through Birds is an adventure as... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 86

“A love letter to British raptors and ornithologist William MacGillivray”

As a birder and particularly a lover of all things raptor, a book with the title 'Raptor' would always catch my fancy. The cover promises that it is 'a journey through birds', and displays some... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.