Quicksand of Memory (Paperback)
  • Quicksand of Memory (Paperback)
zoom

Quicksand of Memory (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 300 Pages
Published: 14/04/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Scarred by their pasts, Jenna and Luke fall in love, brimming with hope for a rosy future. But someone has been watching, with chilling plans for revenge … An emotive, twisty, disturbing new psychological thriller by the critically acclaimed author of A Suitable Lie and In the Absence of Miracles.

‘Compelling, disturbing and engaging' Caro Ramsay

‘Malone is the master of twists, turns and the unexpected, with the skill to keep things grounded … a master of his craft’ Herald Scotland


‘Tense, pacey and lyrical … cements Malone in the firmament of Tartan Noir, marrying McIlvanney and Banks to a modern domestic noir that’ll have you reading into the wee sma’ hours’ Ed James

______________________________________________

The darker the memory, the deadlier the obsession…
 
Jenna is trying to rebuild her life after a series of disastrous relationships. 

Luke is struggling to provide a safe, loving home for his deceased partner’s young son, following a devastating tragedy.

When Jenna and Luke meet and fall in love, they are certain they can achieve the stability and happiness they both desperately need. 

And yet, someone is watching.

Someone who has been scarred by past events.

Someone who will stop at nothing to get revenge…

Dark, unsettling and immensely moving, Quicksand of Memory is a chilling reminder that we are not only punished for our sins, but by them, and that memories left to blacken and sharpen over time are the perfect breeding ground for obsession, and murder…

________________________________________________________

‘Complex, human characters living in a page-turning world’ Douglas Skelton
 
‘Long-held secrets, complex relationships and an ever increasing sense of menace … fantastic’ Steph Broadribb
 
‘A fascinating exploration of damage, toxicity, trauma and love’ Sharon Bairden
 
‘Darkly compelling and provocative … from the outset, whiplike tendrils of disquiet creep their way into the story’ LoveReading

‘Masterfully combines the dark, cruel elements of people’s lives and nature with a glimmer of light and hope’ Fiona Sharp
 
‘An almost perfect storm of circumstances that lead us to a dramatic and potentially deadly conclusion … an emotionally charged story’ Jen Med’s Book Reviews
 
‘I can genuinely say: Fiction doesn’t get any better than this’ Book Review Café
 
Praise for Michael J. Malone

‘A beautifully written tale, original, engrossing and scary … a dark joy’ The Times 

‘A complex and multilayered story – perfect for a wintry night’ Sunday Express

‘Vivid, visceral and compulsive’ Ian Rankin

‘A terrific read … I read it in one sitting’ Martina Cole

‘A deeply satisfying read’ Sunday Times

‘A fine, page-turning thriller’ Daily Mail


‘Malone’s latest is an unsettling, multi-layered and expertly paced domestic noir drama that delves into one family’s dark secrets, shame and lies’ CultureFly

‘Engrossing, hard-hitting – even shocking – with a light poetic frosting. Another superb read!’ Douglas Skelton

'A dark and unnerving psychological thriller that draws you deep into the lives of the characters and refuses to let go. This is a brilliantly written book; I could not put it down’ Caroline Mitchell

‘A chilling tale of the unexpected that journeys right into the dark heart of domesticity’ Marnie Riches
 
For fans of Jodie Picoult, Gillian McAllister, Cara Hunter, Shari Lapena, Liz Nugent and Mark Edward

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781913193966
Number of pages: 300
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“A good read”

Luke had a past he wanted to forget. He bitterly regrets things he did in his youth & is now doing his best to bring up Nathan, the son of his partner recently died. Money is tight as he tries to get his... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Emma Alvey

“A powerful psychological thriller”

"Just a hundred yards away, a hooded figure watched. Shadows obscured his face like they were part of his costume. His heartbeat thumped insistently in his neck, and his hands flexed in and out of fists, like... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A tautly written revenge tragedy about secrets, lies and the past coming back to haunt you.”

Quicksand of Memory….an intriguing title that would not be out of place on a Bond movie. But this is no Bond movie. It is, however, a beautifully written, riveting piece of fiction that has many of the thrills and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: