Queen's Gambit - The Tudor Trilogy (Paperback)
  • Queen's Gambit - The Tudor Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

Queen's Gambit - The Tudor Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 13/03/2014
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Meet the woman who survived Henry VIII in Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit...

My name is Katherine Parr.
I'm 31 years old and already twice widowed.
I'm in love with a man I can't have, and am about to wed a man no-one would want - for my husband-to-be is none other than Henry VIII, who has already beheaded two wives, cast aside two more, and watched one die in childbirth.


What will become of me once I'm wearing his ring and become Queen of England?


They say that the sharpest blades are sheathed in the softest pouches.
Only time will tell what I am really made of...


For fans of Hilary Mantel, Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit, is a riveting account of the Tudor queen who married four men and outlived three of them - including Henry VIII.

Rich in atmosphere and period detail, and told through the eyes of Katherine and her young maid Dot, it tells the story of two very different women during a terrifying and turbulent time. If you loved Wolf Hall, The Other Boleyn Girl or the BBC drama series The Tudors, then Elizabeth Fremantle's Queen's Gambit is the book for you.

'Gripping' Woman & Home
'Sumptuous' Metro
'A major new voice in historical fiction'The Bookseller
'Rich and enticing' Stylist
'Electric' Good Housekeeping
'Wildly entertaining' Huffington Post

Elizabeth Fremantle holds a first in English and an MA in creative Writing from Birkbeck. As a Fashion Editor she has contributed to various publications including Vogue, Elle, Vanity Fair and the Erotic Review and has had her fiction published in the Mechanic's Institute Review. Queen's Gambit is her first novel; her second, Sisters of Treason, will be published early in 2014.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405909389
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 341 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The Tudor court comes to life in this gripping story of Katherine Parr, where passion, secrecy and betrayal power the suspense * Woman & Home *
Electric * Good Housekeeping *
Beautifully written and finely observed, this suspenseful tale of Henry the Eighth's last wife expertly conveys all the dangerous intensity and passion of the Tudor court * Rachel Hore, author of A Place of Secrets and A Gathering Storm *
Rich in atmosphere and period detail . . . An enticing read * Stylist *
A sumptuous epic * Metro *
With a painter's eye for detail, Fremantle brings the dazzling, dangerous Tudor court to life and sheds an intriguing new light on Katherine Parr, one of history's great survivors. An enthralling tale of power and passion, loyalty and betrayal -- Elizabeth Wilhide, author of Ashenden
A powerful debut * Guardian *
Breathes vibrant life into Henry VIII's most intriguing, intelligent and least known wife, Katherine Parr -- Anne Easter Smith
A major new voice in historical fiction * The Bookseller *
Wildly entertaining . . . One of the best historical novels I've read * Huffington Post *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Queen's Gambit”

Katherine Parr was Henry VIII’s sixth wife. She was a twice-widowed, learned, and intelligent woman interested in the new faith and religious reform, the exact opposite of Henry’s fifth wife the young and reckless... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44

“Historical fiction at its best”

I love reading historical fiction and was pleasantly surprised with this debut from Elizabeth Fremantle. The Queen's Gambit follows the story of two women, Katherine Parr whom we all know was Henry VIII last wife... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 43

“This is a stunning historical masterpiece”

The dazzlingly dangerous Tudor court is brought to life with such acute detail as only a painter would capture in this vividly evocative, exquisite debut novel. Stripping back and shedding new light on Katherine... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.