Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Prisoner of Night and Fog: A heart-breaking story of courage during one of history's darkest hours (Paperback)
  • Prisoner of Night and Fog: A heart-breaking story of courage during one of history's darkest hours (Paperback)
zoom

Prisoner of Night and Fog: A heart-breaking story of courage during one of history's darkest hours (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 22/04/2014
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

An ordinary girl faces an extraordinary choice in this gripping, coming-of-age tale of secrets and courage set in Nazi Germany, perfect for readers who enjoyed The Book Thief and Beneath a Scarlet Sky.'

'It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true' Elizabeth Wein, author of Code Name Verity


Munich, 1931. Gretchen Muller has been cherished and protected by Adolf Hitler ever since her father, a senior Nazi officer, sacrificed himself to save the life of the Fuhrer. And now Germany has the chance to be great once more, under the command of her 'Uncle Dolf'.

But secrets cannot be silenced forever. When Gretchen meets a young Jewish reporter named Daniel Cohen, who claims that her father was actually murdered, she becomes swept up in a desperate and dangerous search for the truth. With the full might of the ever-powerful Nazi party on her tail, and the motives of her dearest friends now in question, Gretchen must risk everything to determine her own allegiances - even if her choices could get her and Daniel killed.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472207821
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 500 g
Dimensions: 233 x 155 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Grabs the reader from its first paragraph.... [A] remarkable book * Jewish Book Council *
I'm in awed envy of the daring with which Anne Blankman plunges into her difficult and sensitive subject matter. To read Prisoner of Night and Fog is to be immersed in a breathtaking evocation of Munich in the 1930s, where life is ordinary and skin-crawling by turns, and in the painful, hopeful story of one young girl's awakening conscience. It's terrifying and incredible to think how much of this story is true -- Elizabeth Wein, author of CODENAME VERITY
A tremendously cleverly constructed and terrifically compelling story that puts you right back into History - I read this one obsessively and felt every single moment * www.lizlovesbooks.com *
I haven't liked a historical fiction novel quite this much since Elizabeth Wein's Rose Under Fire. Prisoner of Night and Fog is completely absorbing. It's well-written and clever, and the sort of book that lingers in your thoughts well after the final pages * www.realmoffiction.blogspot.co.uk *
Completely engrossing * Publishers Weekly (starred review) *

You may also be interested in...

Secrets of a Sun King
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Creakers
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
The 1,000-year-old Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Daisy and the Trouble with School Trips
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Ella on the Outside
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Darkest Minds Novel: The Darkest Minds
Added to basket
The World's Worst Children 3
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Tom Gates: Biscuits, Bands and Very Big Plans
Added to basket
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Added to basket
Birthday Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Oi Cat!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“the perfect YA book...”

for those who want to try giving a historical fiction book a try then I would advise anyone to read this book. not only for YA but for adults also. it's full of thrills and suspense. Blankmans research into the... More

Paperback edition
5th June 2014
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.