• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Time is running out, opt in before 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
Yes Please
Prague Nights (Hardback)
  • Prague Nights (Hardback)
zoom

Prague Nights (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 01/06/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'The emperor's mistress had been murdered, and the world had been taken hold of and turned upon its head'

Prague, 1599. Christian Stern, a young doctor, has just arrived in the city. On his first evening, he finds a young woman's body half-buried in the snow. The dead woman is none other than the emperor's mistress, and there's no shortage of suspects.

Stern is employed by the emperor himself to investigate the murder. In the search to find the culprit, Stern finds himself drawn into the shadowy world of the emperor's court - unspoken affairs, letters written in code, and bitter rivalries. But there's no turning back now...

'...in characteristically gorgeous prose, he conjures a wintry world of opportunists and occultists, dwarves and hunchbacks, wolves and shadowy black-winged beasts.' - The Guardian

"A stirring, captivating and perfectly enjoyable read." Irish Independent

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241297858
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 418 g
Dimensions: 204 x 138 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Black is a master of high-class crime fiction, literary noir in the tradition of Georges Simenon and Raymond Chandler * Guardian *
An atmospheric evocation of a city frozen by winter and riddled with intrigue * Daily Mail *
This is an intriguing excursion into different historical territory * Sunday Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Ashes of London
Added to basket
Prussian Blue
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Other Mrs Walker
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Other Side of Silence
Added to basket
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
His Bloody Project
Added to basket
Revelation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Long Drop
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sovereign
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Rising Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Fire Court
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
A Necessary Evil
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
TripFiction

“Novel set in 1599 PRAGUE”

This was the #TFBookClub choice for May/early June 2017.

It is a while since I have read any historical fiction, so I was anticipatory about how I would get on with this book. I have been to Prague and seen some of... More

Hardback edition
1st June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Wolf on a leash”

Winter 1599 and Christian Stern, a naïve and over-confident young man, arrives in Prague determined to make his name at the court of Rudolf II, Holy Roman Emperor and patron of the alchemical arts. Imagine his... More

Hardback edition
13th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.