Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Prague Nights (Paperback)
  • Prague Nights (Paperback)
zoom

Prague Nights (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 07/06/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'The emperor's mistress had been murdered, and the world had been taken hold of and turned upon its head'

Prague, 1599. Christian Stern, a young doctor, has just arrived in the city. On his first evening, he finds a young woman's body half-buried in the snow.

The dead woman is none other than the emperor's mistress, and there's no shortage of suspects. Stern is employed by the emperor himself to investigate the murder. In the search to find the culprit, Stern finds himself drawn into the shadowy world of the emperor's court - unspoken affairs, letters written in code, and bitter rivalries. But there's no turning back now...

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241197387
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 234 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Black is a master of high-class crime fiction, literary noir in the tradition of Georges Simenon and Raymond Chandler * Guardian *
An atmospheric evocation of a city frozen by winter and riddled with intrigue * Daily Mail *
This is an intriguing excursion into different historical territory * Sunday Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Traitors of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 18)
Added to basket
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Glass Woman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Fear on the Phantom Special
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Fire Court
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sovereign
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Wolf and the Watchman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Capitol Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
TripFiction

“Novel set in 1599 PRAGUE”

This was the #TFBookClub choice for May/early June 2017.

It is a while since I have read any historical fiction, so I was anticipatory about how I would get on with this book. I have been to Prague and seen some of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Wolf on a leash”

Winter 1599 and Christian Stern, a naïve and over-confident young man, arrives in Prague determined to make his name at the court of Rudolf II, Holy Roman Emperor and patron of the alchemical arts. Imagine his... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.