The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Portraits and Poison - The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries Book 2 (Paperback)
  • The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Portraits and Poison - The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries Book 2 (Paperback)
zoom

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Portraits and Poison - The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries Book 2 (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 486 Pages
Published: 30/03/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The rip-roaring series inspired by real Black British historical figures returns as our two resourceful amateur sleuths become embroiled in a deadly conspiracy stalking the streets of eighteenth-century London.

Winner of the CrimeFest Best Crime Fiction for Children Award 2024

The second book in the thrilling middle grade mystery series, perfect for fans of Robin Steven's Murder Most Unladylike. Set in eighteenth-century London, with all the fun and zest of Hamilton and inspired by real Black British historical figures.

Agents of history. Partners in Mystery. Sisters in solving crime.

Twelve-year-olds Lizzie Sancho and Dido Belle are from different worlds - Lizzie lives in Westminster in her dad's tea shop, while Belle is an heiress being brought up by her aunt and uncle at grand Kenwood House - but they both share a love of solving mysteries. And after saving Lizzie's father from attempted murder surely there is no threat too dangerous for the detective duo?

It's the summer of 1777, the night of the grand unveiling of the Sancho-Mansfields family portrait - a groundbreaking step towards representing friendship, family, and freedom. But soon enough things take a chaotic turn - the painting has been stolen! This theft is only the start, revealing a much bigger, more terrifying secret that haunts the cobbled streets of London. A conspiracy is underway, one that has links to the kidnapping of Lizzie's friend Mercury, and leads all the way to a series of attempted poisonings, all at the hands of an ominous organisation pulling the strings from the shadows. These villains lurk everywhere, even in the very homes they call safe. And their desire for power is only growing.

When anyone could be involved in this Brotherhood of Masters, who can Lizzie and Belle trust? Once again it is up to the two girls to unveil the truth and put an end to the corruption that plagues the city.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008485283
Number of pages: 486
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Reviews for Lizzie and Belle: Drama and Danger “Black British Georgian history is effectively brought to life through characters based on real people, but it is the suspense and plot twists that keep the pages turning” – Sarah Keating, The Irish Times ‘This vivid theatreland mystery – whose atmospheric setting recalls Phillip Pullman’s The Ruby and the Smoke series – is deeply rooted in the abolitionist milieu and resonates sonorously today.’The Observer, Chapter Books of the Month, 29th May 2022 ‘I was hooked from the outset as Williams expertly takes the real life historical figures of two black Georgians Lizzie Sancho and Dido Belle and imagines them tackling a mystery of an attempted onstage murder! From the descriptions of the Jamaica Coffee House to the candle lit theatre chandeliers Georgian London is vividly brought to life. A must read for mystery fans.’Joseph Coelho, Waterstone’s Children’s Laureate “Bringing Georgian London vividly to life, this is a wonderful historical mystery with two delightful heroines. I can't wait to read the next instalment and find out what Lizzie and Belle will get up to next!”Katherine Woodfine, author of The Sinclair’s Mysteries series

You may also be interested in...

Story of the Titanic
Added to basket
DK
£9.99
Hardback
Mission: Polar Bear Rescue
Added to basket
Ice Trap!
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Born to Run
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Diary of a Young Girl
Added to basket
A Seal Called Andre
Added to basket
My Secret Diary
Added to basket
Tail-End Charlie
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Island of Lost Horses
Added to basket
Manfish
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Baby's Very First Black and White Animals
Added to basket
The One That Got Away - Junior edition
Added to basket
Jacky Daydream
Added to basket
Danny the Dragon
Added to basket
A Small Person Far Away
Added to basket
Thumbelina
Added to basket
£5.99
Hardback

“Fun and exciting sequel!”

Lizzie and Belle are back to solve another mystery! This story is perfect for children (or adults!) who like solving mysteries, or who are looking for a great depiction of friendship in a historical setting. Based on... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: