Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Population Wars (Hardback)
  • Population Wars (Hardback)
zoom

Population Wars (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 24/09/2015
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Life on Earth has been defined by war from the beginning, with war between populations seen as an inevitable part of the evolutionary process. The popular understanding of "the survival of the fittest" explains and often excuses these actions. In Population Wars, Greg Graffin argues that this use of evolutionary theory is wrong, and that mistake has allowed us to justify wars even when other, less violent solutions may be available. Through tales of mass extinctions, developing immune systems, human warfare, the American industrial heartland, and our degrading modern environment, Graffin demonstrates how an over-simplified idea of war, with its victorious winners and vanquished losers, prevents us from responding to the real problems we face. For readers of Richard Dawkins, Jared Diamond, and E.O. Wilson, Populations Wars is a paradigm-shifting book about why humans behave the way they do and the science that explains their behavior.

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
ISBN: 9781250017628
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 499 g
Dimensions: 236 x 155 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"We are living in what may be the most important time in our species' history, in which we have become at once both the stewards of the earth and its millions of species and delicate ecosystem, and its potential demise through the population wars. As Greg Graffin demonstrates in this important call to action, the decision is ours to make on what we will do next-continue business as usual or take the next step in our moral evolution to create a sustainable world. Through compelling examples and page-turning storytelling, Graffin shows how we got here and what we can do about it, both individually and collectively." --Michael Shermer, publisher of Skeptic magazine, monthly columnist for Scientific American, and author of The Moral Arc

"This brilliant and far-reaching tour of conflict and cooperation is led by a naturalist with an eye on the big picture. It will forever change the way you think about human conflict. Graffin is a talented science communicator who makes complex concepts accessible to all. The more we hear from him, the better." --Guy P. Harrison, author of Good Thinking: What You Need to Know to be Smarter, Safer, Wealthier, and Wiser

"A worldview eloquently expressed."--Chicago Tribune on Anarchy Evolution

"[Graffin] explains how evolution can be a guide to life."--Scientific American on Anarchy Evolution

"Take one man who rejects authority and religion and leads a punk band. Take another man who wonders whether vertebrates arose in rivers or in the ocean and is fascinated by evolution, creativity, and Ice Age animals. Put them together, and what do you get? Greg Graffin and this uniquely fascinating book."--Jared Diamond, author of Gun, Germs, and Steel on Anarchy Evolution

You may also be interested in...

Domesticated
Added to basket
£19.99
Hardback
Biocentrism
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Life on a Young Planet
Added to basket
Power, Sex, Suicide
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Life Ascending
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Origin of Species
Added to basket
The Blind Watchmaker
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
On the Origin of Species
Added to basket
Why Evolution is True
Added to basket
Creation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Darwin's Notebook
Added to basket
The Sixth Extinction
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Greatest Show on Earth
Added to basket
Origin Of The Species
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.