Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Politics and Apocalypse - Studies in Violence, Mimesis, and Culture Series (Paperback)
  • Politics and Apocalypse - Studies in Violence, Mimesis, and Culture Series (Paperback)
zoom

Politics and Apocalypse - Studies in Violence, Mimesis, and Culture Series (Paperback)

(editor)
£17.95
Paperback Published: 15/03/2008
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Apocalypse: To most, the word signifies destruction, death, the end of the world. But the literal definition is "revelation" or "unveiling," the basis from which renowned theologian Rene Girard builds his own view of Biblical apocalypse. Properly understood, Girard explains, Biblical apocalypse has nothing to do with a wrathful or vengeful God punishing his unworthy children, and everything to do with a foretelling of what future humans are making for themselves now that they have devised the instruments of global self-destruction. In this volume, some of the major thinkers about the interpenetration of politics and religion - including Eric Voegelin, Leo Strauss, and Carl Schmitt - are scrutinized by some of today's most qualified scholars, all of whom are thoroughly versed in Girard's groundbreaking work.Including an important new essay by Girard, this volume enters into a philosophical debate that challenges the bona fides of philosophy itself by examining three supremely important philosophers of the twentieth century. It asks how we might think about politics now that the attacks of 9/11 have shifted our intellectual foundations and what the outbreak of rabid religion might signify for international politics."Politics and Apocalypse" is the inaugural issue of the "Studies in Violence, Mimesis, and Culture" book series, which continues in the tradition of "Contagion: Journal of Violence, Mimesis, and Culture". This journal follows the research agenda of the Colloquium on Violence and Religion, an international association that draws inspiration from Rene Girard's mimetic hypothesis on the relationship between violence and religion, elaborated in a stunning series of books he has written over the last forty years.

Publisher: Michigan State University Press
ISBN: 9780870138119
Weight: 399 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 19 mm

You may also be interested in...

How the World Thinks
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Daily Stoic
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Utopia for Realists
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse
Added to basket
12 Rules for Life
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The School of Life
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
Ikigai
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
A Short Philosophy of Birds
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Order of Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Meditations
Added to basket
£10.00   £8.99
Hardback
The Art of Logic
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Japonisme
Added to basket
Meditations
Added to basket
£4.99
Paperback
Rebel Ideas
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Lessons in Stoicism
Added to basket
Enlightenment Now
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.