Playing Dead (Paperback)
  • Playing Dead (Paperback)
zoom

Playing Dead (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 21/07/2011
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Annie Carter is back...

She was a madam in a brothel and a gangster's moll, but now her protection is gone and her enemies are closing in.

1971, London gang boss Annie Carter Barolli is living the New York high life with the feared mafia godfather Constantine Barolli. Then family tragedy strikes, leaving only Annie, Constantine's sister Gina and his three children alive, and now they're in terrible danger. And what's worse - it signals a major shift in mafia power.

Annie returns to London with her daughter Layla, pursued by a hit man. Someone wants her dead and the only way she can stay alive is to find out who's paying for the contract and to strike first.

Then, the reappearance of an old East End face sparks a shocking suspicion - the possibility that Max Carter, Annie's first and greatest love, didn't die two years ago, as she had been led to believe.

Has he truly just been playing dead?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007326563
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 350 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Jail Bird:

'Fans of Martina Cole will love this' Teesside Evening Gazette

'Keane's have a grittiness and strong sense of place and character that make them especially compelling' Choice Magazine

Praise for Jessie Keane:

'This is a riveting story, with gutsy, gritty characters and a genuine feel for the period.' Books Monthly

'A cracking story from a great new writer' Mandasue Heller

'Jessie Keane gives us a fascinating insight into the rivalries and lifestyles of those who make fortunes out of a criminal way of life and of the lowlifes that carry out their orders.' Lincolnshire Echo

'Perfect for fans of Martina Cole and Lynda La Plante' Glamour

'Gritty and powerful, Martina Cole fans will love this addictive novel' Closer

'This is the sort of competition Martina Cole could do without and if Keane does hit the No. 1 spot it could be handbags, or more likely knuckledusters, at dawn' The Northern Echo

You may also be interested in...

Slough House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“I love it”

One of the best books i've ever read, once you pick it up you won't be able to put it down, hope she writes some more Annie Carter books!

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“awsome read”

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“excellent read, luv it”

If u love Martina Cole books, it true you will love this one. Unable to put down, highly recommend. You don't need to read all of the Annie Carter versions to follow the story Line, but highly worth purchasing... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.