• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
Plastic Words: The Tyranny of a Modular Language (Paperback)
  • Plastic Words: The Tyranny of a Modular Language (Paperback)
zoom

Plastic Words: The Tyranny of a Modular Language (Paperback)

(author), (translator), (translator)
£21.95
Paperback 136 Pages / Published: 19/07/2004
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
"Development." "Project." "Strategy." "Problem." These may seem like harmless words, but are they? German writer and linguist Uwe Poerksen calls these words "plastic words" because of their malleability and the uncanny way they are used to fit every circumstance. Like plastic Lego blocks, they are combinable and interchangeable. In the mouths of experts--politicians, professors, corporate officials, and planners--they are used over and over again to explain and justify plans and projects. Poerksen traces the history of plastic words, establishes criteria for identifying them, and provides a tragi-comic critique of the society that relies on them. He shows that when plastic words infiltrate a field of reality, they reorder it in their own image--hence their threat. They are building blocks for new models of reality that may seem utopian but that impoverish the world. Plastic Words is a translation of the remarkably successful book first published in Germany in 1988. For the English-language edition, Poerksen has added a new preface, explaining the origin of the book and addressing the spirited public debate it has spawned.Bold and provocative, Plastic Words is social and linguistic criticism in the tradition of Jonathan Swift and George Orwell. Uwe Poerksen is Professor of German Language and Literature at the University of Freiburg. A medievalist by training, he is also a novelist, critic, and internationally respected linguist. He has written many books in German, but this is the first to be available in English.

Publisher: Pennsylvania State University Press
ISBN: 9780271024929
Number of pages: 136
Weight: 210 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 8 mm

You may also be interested in...

How to Argue with a Cat
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Swearing Is Good For You
Added to basket
The Language Instinct
Added to basket
Mythologies
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Let's Sign Pocket Dictionary
Added to basket
The Etymologicon
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thank You for Arguing
Added to basket
Lost in Translation
Added to basket
The Wee Book a Glesca Banter
Added to basket
British Sign Language: Teach Yourself
Added to basket
Bespoke
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The ABC's of LGBT+
Added to basket
Swearing Is Good For You
Added to basket
An Unkindness of Ravens
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The New Penguin Russian Course
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.