Accidental Trouble Magnet: Book 1 - Planet Omar (Paperback)
  • Accidental Trouble Magnet: Book 1 - Planet Omar (Paperback)
zoom

Accidental Trouble Magnet: Book 1 - Planet Omar (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 18/04/2019
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?).

My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends. What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target.

At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough...

The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid.

Chosen as the CBBC Book of the Month for June 2019!

Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444951226
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 204 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Zanib Mian is a properly brilliant and funny new voice in children's fiction * Booktrust *
Big-hearted, funny and very entertaining * The Bookseller *
The real pleasure of this book is Omar - his imagination, the pleasure he finds in ordinary things, his infectious zest for life make this irresistible reading. * Love Reading 4 Kids *
A graphic chapter book in the style of the Tom Gates or Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, Planet Omar takes in all sorts of issues, from dealing with school bullies and prejudice, especially against Omar's Muslim family, to forming new friendships and adjusting to change. Humorous, with a light touch. * The Guardian *
Recommended by the 'Reading Well for children' programme. This provides quality-assured information, stories and advice to support children's mental health and wellbeing. Books have been chosen and recommended by leading health professionals and co-produced with children and families * The Reading Agency *

You may also be interested in...

The Christmasaurus and the Winter Witch
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (Book 13)
Added to basket
Return to Roar
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure
Added to basket
Dog Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
George's Marvellous Medicine
Added to basket
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Christmas Wishes
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Death Sets Sail
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark
Added to basket
The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
Pokemon Annual 2021
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Hardback
The Twits
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback

“LOVE LOVE LOVE”

Absolutely loved this book as an adult, and have already passed it around for the kids to read. It's just such a funny, warm and relevant story. This is about a boy and his family w scientist parents who... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Better than Wimpy Kid or Tom Gates”

This book should be in every classroom in every primary school. Previously published as The Muslims, it has been republished with illustrations and highlighted words, like Tom Gates/wimpy kid but better. I was lucky... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Bursting with imagination and humour. Ideal for reluctant readers”

This is a superb book for children aged 6+ and could be used throughout KS2. I imagine it will be particularly effective for engaging reluctant readers due to the oodles of fun illustration and buckets of humour that... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.