Pizza Girl (Hardback)
  • Pizza Girl (Hardback)
zoom

Pizza Girl (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 208 Pages / Published: 17/09/2020
  • In stock

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Normal People and Fleabag, Frazier’s electrifying debut charts the vexed relationship between a pregnant teenage pizza delivery driver and a stressed-out, middle-aged mum. 

Named a most anticipated book of 2020 by Vogue, Harper's Bazaar, Elle, Marie Claire, Time, People, BuzzFeed, Bustle, and more. Perfect for fans of Normal People and Fleabag.

Eighteen years old, pregnant, and working as a pizza delivery girl, our dysfunctional heroine is deeply lost and in complete denial about it all. She's grieving the death of her father, avoiding her loving boyfriend, and flagrantly ignoring her future.

Her world is further upended when she becomes obsessed with Jenny, a stay-at-home mother new to the neighbourhood, who comes to depend on weekly deliveries of pickle-covered pizzas for her son's happiness.

As one woman looks toward motherhood and the other toward middle age, the relationship between the two begins to blur in strange, complicated, and ultimately heartbreaking ways.

Bold, tender, and unexpected, Pizza Girl is a moving and funny portrait of a flawed, unforgettable young woman as she tries to find her place in the world.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008356415
Number of pages: 208
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 204 x 135 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Messy, funny, dark, with characters who feel so real you'd swear you know them already. A truly original coming-of-age tale that feels both fresh and familiar' - Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City

'A sublime ode to obsessive outcasts and lovable screw-ups everywhere, Pizza Girl is irresistible and bold, brutal and sweet, with an ending that will thrash your heart' - Kimberly King Parsons, author of Black Light

'Riotously funny' - Elle

'Fresh, funny, bittersweet' - New York Times

'This quirky, moody novel delivers in unexpected ways' - People

'Bristles with biting wit and optimism, each page a feast of Cheeto-fingered heart, humor, and lyricism' - Esquire

'A funny, fast-moving and essential coming-of-age novel. A sticky and feverish story about obsession, desire, grief, motherhood and need. You will devour it' - Lara Williams, author of Supper Club

'Frazier's characters are raw and her dialogue startlingly observant ... will appeal to fans of Halle Butler and Ottessa Moshfegh' - Pubilsher's Weekly

'A simultaneously riotous and heartbreaking coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Halle Butler and Elif Batuman' - Harper's Bazaar

'Tense and tender ... A bittersweet bildungsroman about life's random turns and the struggle to survive in suburban LA' - Kirkus

'Jean Kyoung Frazier, a blazing new voice in fiction, has given us a sly, poignant glimpse into the wilds of suburbia, where intergenerational queer love and alienation from labor go hand in hand' - Andrea Lawlor

'To Pizza Girl, Jean Kyoung Frazier brings a flawless ear for language, great inventiveness, unfailing intelligence and empathy, and best of all a rare and shimmering wit. This novel has immense appeal' - Richard Ford

'Jean Kyoung Frazier will make you laugh with one sentence and break your heart with the next. A delicious debut' - Julia Phillips, author of Disappearing Earth

'Luminous, brooding, and, frankly, awe-inspiring' - Bryan Washington

You may also be interested in...

How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Lessons
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback

“Unique”

Pizza girl is pregnant, and her biggest worry is "why is everyone else happy about this?". She's 18, why isn't her mum telling her that she's ruining her life? Why is her boyfriend, Billy,... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Emotional, funny”

This was a good quick easy read. It didn't blow me away however I did enjoy it. Set in America, She works in a pizza delivery/takeaway shop whilst at school. When she leaves, she knows she has something to tide... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“original”

I went into this book thinking it would be a sort of feel good read but boy was I wrong!
Initially I found it slow but reviews had said stick with it and I'm glad I did. The protagonist didn't excite me at... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.