People Like Us (Hardback)
  • People Like Us (Hardback)
zoom

People Like Us (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 528 Pages / Published: 06/08/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A compelling tale of forbidden love set in 1930's Leipzig' Independent

'Terrifying, yet tender. I loved it' Irish Examiner

'Heart-breaking, thought-provoking story' Adele Parks

'I nearly drowned and Walter rescued me. That changes everything.'

Leipzig, 1930s Germany

Hetty Heinrich is a perfect German child. Her father is an SS officer, her brother in the Luftwaffe, herself a member of the BDM. She believes resolutely in her country, and the man who runs it.

Until Walter changes everything. Blond-haired, blue-eyed, perfect in every way Walter. The boy who saved her life. A Jew.

Anti-semitism is growing by the day, and neighbours, friends and family members are turning on one another. As Hetty falls deeper in love with a man who is against all she has been taught, she begins to fight against her country, her family and herself. Hetty will have to risk everything to save Walter, even if it means sacrificing herself...

Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Book Thief.

Why people love People Like Us:

'People Like Us is also a reminder that - even in the darkest times - the extraordinary power of love can light the way' Fiona Valpy

'A powerful, unforgettable love story' Gill Paul

'A heartbreaking, beautiful story' Jenny Ashcroft

'This is historical fiction at its absolute best' Liz Trenow

'An outstanding and heart-breaking story of Nazism seen from the 'other side': blind indoctrination is transformed into true heroism by the power of love' Sharon Maas, author of The Violin Maker's Daughter

'People Like Us is part romance, part character study, part call to arms' Lizzie Page

'People Like Us is an incredibly moving, utterly captivating, beautiful story of love, courage, and the strength of the human spirit. It was both heartbreaking and hopeful at once. The ending had me in tears' Rhiannon Navin

'A heartbreaking and thought-provoking story about forbidden love during Nazi Germany. Had me gripped to the very end' Luke Allnutt, author of We Own the Sky

'Beautiful and absorbing - a vital story of kindness, and a reminder that humanity can flourish in the darkest of times' Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults

Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781789545005
Number of pages: 528
Dimensions: 228 x 145 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Beautiful and absorbing - a vital story of kindness, and a reminder that humanity can flourish in the darkest of times' -- Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults
'Part romance, part character study, part call to arms. The subject matter - racial hate - is sensitive but we are in safe hands with Fein who writes with great passion and urgency. The minor characters are living, breathing, three-dimensional people, each with their own motivations and dark secrets' -- Lizzie Page, author of When I Was Yours
'[People Like Us] spins childhood innocence shattered, the tendency for society to carry us along in wrong directions, and the importance of standing up against tyranny in ways small and large into an absorbing, heart-wrenching story of love and letting go - and a lesson for us all' -- Meg Waite Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Train to London
'I adored this book because not only is is beautifully written, it also tells a familiar story from a very unfamiliar perspective: that of a naive German teenager caught up in the rise of Nazism,and her gradual realisation of the inhumanity driven by Aryan fanaticism. Louise Fein's characters help us understand how so many people were taken in by Nazi propaganda, and the terrible, heartbreaking dilemmas they faced trying to protect the people they loved. This is historical fiction at its absolute best' -- Liz Trenow, author of The Forgotten Seamstress
'A powerful, unforgettable love story' -- Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife
Moving and extremely powerful' * Woman's Weekly *
'A nerve-wracking and gripping read ... Louise's cherished goal is to remind us all that we are all the same, and she encourages us all to cherish freedom of speech, debate and the acceptance of difference' * Family Tree Magazine *
'Powerful and poignant, moving and provocative, this beautifully eloquent novel is set before and during the Second World War. People Like Us highlights love, humanity and kindness in the terrifying face of intolerance and hate ... This is one to climb the rooftops and shout about' * LoveReading *
'A compelling tale of forbidden love set in 1930's Leipzig' * Independent. *
'Terrifying, yet tender. I loved it' * Irish Examiner. *
'A spellbinding story of impossible love set against the backdrop of the Nazi regime' * Irish Times Weekend *
'A love story with deep resonance as it tackles the contemporary issue of rising popularism and antisemitism' * Mslexia *
'This heart-breaking, thought-provoking story about forbidden love and racial hate reminds us that even in the bleakest of times love, decency and humanity will triumph' * Platinum *
'The ending packs a considerable punch' * Tablet *
'An emotionally compelling and skilfully crafted debut novel ... People Like Us is a book of brutal truths, uplifting bravery and both a condemnation of inhumanity and a joyful celebration of mankind's innate capacity for good ... With a little help from love' * Lancashire Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Mother's Secret
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket

“Love in the time of the Third Reich”

I absolutely adored this book!

At times it's difficult because you want to shake Hettie and say "why can't you see that all this Nazi stuff is awful and Hitler should not be your hero!", but of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“A slow burn, star-crossed romance”

What an appropriate time for this book to be released, right on the 7th anniversary of VE day. The Tagline for this book compares it to the Book Theif which I definitely agree with but also, if you have seen the film... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Truly Spectacular”

Wow, just wow. This book is something very, very special indeed.

It's the story of the perfect German girl, Hetty Heinrich, and her Jewish friend from childhood, Walter Keller. When Hetty was only 7 Walter, then... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.