Peach Blossom Spring (Hardback)
  • Peach Blossom Spring (Hardback)
zoom

Peach Blossom Spring (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 17/03/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Spanning continents and generations, Peach Blossom Spring tells a powerfully moving and beautifully nuanced tale of loss, hope and belonging that opens a window into the history of modern China through one family’s story.

With every misfortune there is a blessing and within every blessing, the seeds of misfortune, and so it goes, until the end of time.

It is 1938 in China, and the Japanese are advancing. A young mother, Meilin, is forced to flee her burning city with her four-year-old son, Renshu, and embark on an epic journey across China. For comfort, they turn to their most treasured possession - a beautifully illustrated hand scroll. Its ancient fables offer solace and wisdom as they travel through their ravaged country, seeking refuge.

Years later, Renshu has settled in America as Henry Dao. His daughter is desperate to understand her heritage, but he refuses to talk about his childhood. How can he keep his family safe in this new land when the weight of his history threatens to drag them down?

Spanning continents and generations, Peach Blossom Spring is a bold and moving look at the history of modern China, told through the story of one family. It's about the power of our past, the hope for a better future, and the search for a place to call home.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472277534
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 41 g
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'I absolutely adored this novel about love and war, migration and belonging. I walked with the characters, felt what they felt. They took me with them on their incredible journey. During moments of deep sadness and loss, there is also beauty - the beauty of enduring love, of identity, of hope. Melissa Fu portrays the time, the culture, the place and the struggles of this family so vividly, with nuance and colour and life. Her writing is subtle and powerful, it stays with you, it follows you like the smell of the peach blossoms, it evokes emotions and questions and enlightens you. This is such a stunning achievement!' - Christy Lefteri

'What an immersive, expertly plotted and elegantly written novel. In its sweep and scope, it would appeal to fans of Madeleine Thien and Min Jin Lee and its lyrical voice - championing the vitality and ingenuity of the immigrant experience across three settings - confirms Melissa Fu as a writer to watch.' - Sharlene Teo

'Unputdownable. The settings are so vibrant and Meilin and her son Renshu so tenderly evoked it's as though we're enduring their extraordinary struggle for survival with them.' - Rachel Hore

'This intricately woven journey of four generations of a family buffeted by the complex tectonics of 20th century China and the US is so well told that I often paused to admire Fu's poetic magic in bringing her characters and real historical moments to life.' - Helen Zia

'A rich, sprawling saga straddling continents, decades and fractured histories, Melissa Fu has written a gorgeous book of family love and loss. Fu braids together historical details with characters whose hopes and fears pull you along on every page, and leave you wanting more.' - Te-Ping Chen

'Expansive, atmospheric, and affecting. Peach Blossom Spring shows just how much the human heart can hold, and it left me breathless.' - Susie Yang

'A sweeping epic that transports the reader from war-torn China, where a mother consoles her son with ancient fables while they seek refuge, through to modern-day America, where a little girl searches for her identity and the secrets of her father's history. Melissa Fu effortlessly conjures a world rich in texture, taste and detail in this gentle, heartfelt and moving story. It's glorious and tender, exquisitely written and beautifully nuanced. I finished it with tears in my eyes and will be recommending it to everyone I know.' - Jennifer Saint

'Accomplished and utterly gripping, Peach Blossom Spring had me hooked, and completely unable to put it down until I'd finished. Crossing multiple generations and continents, this is the story of a single family living through war, heartbreak and passion. The full political complexity of twentieth-century Chinese history is here, and Fu effortlessly transports the reader into the mind of Meilin, a young girl living through it. We see how her devotion and the trauma she undergoes echoes through the generations of her family. Her son, Henry, is caught between two worlds and longs to be able to leave his past behind. Fu imbues all her characters with real, complex personalities and desires, which makes this a compulsive read. One of my best books of the year.' - Catherine Menon

'A beautifully rendered meditation on the trials and triumphs of a family torn apart by war, Peach Blossom Spring left me pondering how the stories we choose to pass down have the power not only to define us, but to buoy us -- to help us persevere through the most challenging of times.' - Georgia Hunter

'A brilliant multigenerational tale that stretches across the decades from pre-WWII China to post-Cold War America. A captivating debut, Fu's novel is full of dynamic characters whose lives fill the pages with beauty and tragedy that tug on our heartstrings as they flee an everchanging China into the precarious worlds of first Taiwan and then America. It's a timely story of displaced Chinese immigrants searching for home and identity after war and revolution ravage their homeland.' - Mary Lynn Bracht

'Melissa Fu chronicles a tumultuous period in Chinese history with stunning grace, while also offering us a fresh and important take on the immigrant story. In Dao Renshu's family journey - fleeing from China during WWII, then finding and refinding himself in America - I recognized so many pieces of my own. Captivating from beginning to end.' - Mira T Lee

'Magical, and powerful, Peach Blossom Spring brings to life the costs of wars and conflicts while illuminating the spirit of human survival. Inspired by her father's real-life experiences and her determination to comprehend her family's past, Melissa Fu has gifted us with a timely, moving, and universal novel.' - Nguyen Phan Que Mai

You may also be interested in...

The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Sharpe's Assassin
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Oh William!
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Women of Troy
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
The Party Crasher
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Ariadne
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Snow Country
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback

“An amazing and beautiful debut novel!”

I absolutely love it when I stumble across an amazing debut novel just like this one!

Peach Blossom Spring spans nearly 70 years and follows the life of a family across three generations. Renshu and Meilin have their... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Beautiful and emotive.”

I INHALED this beautiful, stunningly emotional family drama,set over decades & continents, through a history I learned on the way. Rich in detail & character, this is simply unmissable
Fantastic immersive... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Accomplished and utterly gripping”

Peach Blossom Spring had me hooked, and completely unable to put it down until I'd finished. Crossing multiple generations and continents, this is the story of a single family living through war, heartbreak and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.