Payday (Hardback)
  • Payday (Hardback)
zoom

Payday (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 368 Pages
Published: 02/09/2021
Please note, this item can only be delivered to a UK address. Find out more
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Louise Candlish and Sarah Vaughan, Walden’s wire-taut psychological thriller focuses on a trio of women with a deadly secret that threatens to unravel with catastrophic results.

Can you guess who killed Jamie Lawrence? Discover the brand new thriller everybody is talking about . . .

Late one night, three women share secrets.

They barely know each other, but they all know Jamie Lawrence. They know what he's guilty of. And they agree something must be done.

But as their plan spirals out of control, they begin to doubt themselves . . . and each other. Then Jamie is found dead. And suddenly everything is at stake. As lies are unravelled and truths exposed, two urgent questions emerge:

Who is really guilty? And who will have to pay?

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751583175
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 6240 g
Dimensions: 328 x 244 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

With complex female characters spiralling out of control, Payday is tense, full of twists, and impossible to put down - HELEN FIELDING

A satisfyingly nuanced take on the #MeToo novel . . . fearless, stylish, suspenseful and immensely entertaining - LOUISE CANDLISH

Wonderful . . . a fast-paced psychological thriller and a feminist unpicking of the issues that unite and divide women. I adored it - GILLIAN MCALLISTER

Modern, intelligent and totally gripping. Nicole Kidman TV miniseries is written all over it - SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will inhale this in one sitting, as I did - JESSICA FELLOWES

Sensational. Full of twists and turns and ambushes that keep you guessing up until the very last page. PAYDAY is the best book you will read all year about where men and women are right now. - TONY PARSONS

I think every working woman will relate to this story. I was enraged in places and cheering certain characters on, then questioning my own judgement. An intelligent, thought-provoking and highly topical story with some great twists. - ALLIE REYNOLDS

Clever, compelling and chillingly plausible, Payday is a deftly plotted thriller that ratchets up the tension right until the final couldn't-see-it-coming twist. - ELLERY LLOYD

Seductive. Intelligent. Should have a 'must read' advisory on it - JANE CORRY

With assured writing and a deftly-handled plot, Payday is a page turner that will provoke many a debate - C.J. COOPER

Journalist Walden's debut is a cracking feminist revenge thriller that rips along, full of tension and drama. Telling the story from the three women's separate points of view means well-developed characters and acres of room for deception, suspense and a neat twist in the tail - DAILY MAIL

A runaway train ride of a thriller - THE SUN

A brilliant and clever read - CLOSER

A fast-paced story, you'll be hooked from the first line - BELLA

Slick, shrewd and wildly entertaining, Payday is the very definition of a one-sitting read. Nuanced, believable characters drive this dynamite plot to its unexpected end. Prepare to be wrong-footed at every turn! - CAZ FREAR, the Number One bestselling author of 'Sweet Little Lies'

I absolutely loved it. It's unputdownable, a great mystery and a fantastic read - BARBARA TAYLOR BRADFORD, international bestselling author

The writing and plot draw you in and the female-first perspective packs a punch - BELFAST TELEGRAPH

Topical and timely, this buzzing page-turner will have you on the edge of your seat - THE LADY

Brilliant mystery combined with a morality tale - BEST

The ultimate page-turner! - THE SUN

A mystery that's as thought-provoking as it is compelling. - MAIL ON SUNDAY

Compulsively readable . . . fans of Liz Nugent's Unravelling Oliver will find much to enjoy in a novel that is provocatively complex as it explores the grey areas that exist between right and wrong. - IRISH TIMES

Brilliantly plotted, with twists that will leave you gasping. This is likely to be the most addictive book you'll read all year. - B.P. WALTER, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE DINNER GUEST

You may also be interested in...

If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Housemaid's Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Murder After the Night Before
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Good first chapter then seemed to go downhill”

I found the first chapter of this book really arresting and engaging but, for me, it went downhill from there. The introduction of so many characters and time lines was quite off putting and I'm afraid I got to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Superb!!”

Thank you to the publishers for this unexpected review copy.
This book wasn't on my radar, I had heard no mention of it. So I started it with no expectations...
My Verdict: I LOVED IT!!!
So I will be recommending... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17
kendrafortune

“Pacy and very readable revenge drama/whodunnit”

Three women working together at one company all find themselves with good reason to hate and despise one of their male colleagues, Jamie. At a works party they make a pact to do what they can to bring him down and... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: