Pax (Paperback)
  • Pax (Paperback)
zoom

Pax (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£7.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 01/09/2017
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for September 2017

In the still woods, the only movements were bars of sunlight glinting like green glass through the leafy canopy. He stretched higher. There was no sign of his boy.

Pax was only a cub when his family was killed and he was rescued by 'his boy', Peter. Now the country is at war and when his father enlists, Peter has no choice but to move in with his grandfather.

Far worse than leaving home is the fact that he has to leave Pax behind. But before Peter spends even one night under his grandfather's roof he sneaks out into the night, determined to find his beloved friend.

This is the story of Peter, Pax, and their journeys back to each other as war rampages throughout the country. A profound and moving story with stunning illustrations by award-winning illustrator, Jon Klassen, Pax is destined to become a classic in the vein of Charlotte's Web and Watership Down.

American author Sara Pennypacker has written over twenty children’s books including four books in the continuing series about Jeff Brown’s character Flat Stanley.

Jon Klassen is a celebrated Canadian writer and illustrator having won both the prestigious American Caldecott Medal and The Kate Greenaway Medal for his picture book, This Is Not My Hat. His other works as author and illustrator include I Want My Hat Back and We Found a Hat. Amongst his numerous illustrative collaborations are Lemony Snicket’s The Dark and Mac Barnett's Sam and Dave Dig a Hole.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008158286
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 197 x 140 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"Pax the book is like Pax the fox: half wild and wholly beautiful." - New York Times

"A heart-wrenching masterpiece about the relationship between a boy and his fox." - Guardian

"A touching story about a boy and his pet, as well as a depection of the devestating and often unseen consequences of war." - Book Trust

"Every moment in the graceful, fluid narrative is believable ... Moving and poetic." - Kirkus

You may also be interested in...

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Fear Street the Beginning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Serpent & Dove
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Afterlove
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Once Upon a Crime
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Dragon
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Megamonster
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Amari and the Night Brothers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
We Hunt the Flame
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lizzie | @littlehux

“A powerful middle grade book telling the individual toll of war through the eyes of a boy and his fox”

Pax by Sara Pennypacker is so much more than the Homeward Bound story you expect it's going to be.

When war brews, Peter has to leave his beloved pet fox Pax in the woods as he goes to live with his... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 117

“Powerful and Beautiful”

This is a really, really stunning book. Not just physically (Jon Klassen's illustrations are always gorgeous, and the cover under the dust jacket is something else), but emotionally as well. After Pax the fox... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 101

“A beautiful book with a wonderful story”

The story is told as a duel narrative, through the eyes of a boy called Peter and his pet fox called Pax. Peter is forced to abandon Pax in the wild by his father who is leaving to fight in an impending war. Peter... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 86

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.