Pax (Paperback)
  • Pax (Paperback)
zoom

Pax (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 01/09/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Waterstones Children's Book of the Month for September 2017

In the still woods, the only movements were bars of sunlight glinting like green glass through the leafy canopy. He stretched higher. There was no sign of his boy.

Pax was only a cub when his family was killed and he was rescued by 'his boy', Peter. Now the country is at war and when his father enlists, Peter has no choice but to move in with his grandfather.

Far worse than leaving home is the fact that he has to leave Pax behind. But before Peter spends even one night under his grandfather's roof he sneaks out into the night, determined to find his beloved friend.

This is the story of Peter, Pax, and their journeys back to each other as war rampages throughout the country. A profound and moving story with stunning illustrations by award-winning illustrator, Jon Klassen, Pax is destined to become a classic in the vein of Charlotte's Web and Watership Down.

American author Sara Pennypacker has written over twenty children’s books including four books in the continuing series about Jeff Brown’s character Flat Stanley.

Jon Klassen is a celebrated Canadian writer and illustrator having won both the prestigious American Caldecott Medal and The Kate Greenaway Medal for his picture book, This Is Not My Hat. His other works as author and illustrator include I Want My Hat Back and We Found a Hat. Amongst his numerous illustrative collaborations are Lemony Snicket’s The Dark and Mac Barnett's Sam and Dave Dig a Hole.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008158286
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 197 x 140 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"Pax the book is like Pax the fox: half wild and wholly beautiful." - New York Times

"A heart-wrenching masterpiece about the relationship between a boy and his fox." - Guardian

"A touching story about a boy and his pet, as well as a depection of the devestating and often unseen consequences of war." - Book Trust

"Every moment in the graceful, fluid narrative is believable ... Moving and poetic." - Kirkus

You may also be interested in...

The Creakers
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Oi Cat!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Meltdown (book 13)
Added to basket
The Murderer's Ape
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
You're Called What?
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Always and Forever, Lara Jean
Added to basket
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Birthday Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Oi Duck-billed Platypus
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic
Added to basket
Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
To All The Boys I've Loved Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Hux - Blogger, @littlehux

“A powerful middle grade book telling the individual toll of war through the eyes of a boy and his fox”

Pax by Sara Pennypacker is so much more than the Homeward Bound story you expect it's going to be.

When war brews, Peter has to leave his beloved pet fox Pax in the woods as he goes to live with his... More

“Powerful and Beautiful”

This is a really, really stunning book. Not just physically (Jon Klassen's illustrations are always gorgeous, and the cover under the dust jacket is something else), but emotionally as well. After Pax the fox... More

Hardback edition
23rd February 2016
Helpful? Upvote 79

“A beautiful book with a wonderful story”

The story is told as a duel narrative, through the eyes of a boy called Peter and his pet fox called Pax. Peter is forced to abandon Pax in the wild by his father who is leaving to fight in an impending war. Peter... More

Hardback edition
9th March 2016
Helpful? Upvote 68

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.