Past Life - A DS McAvoy novel (Hardback)
  • Past Life - A DS McAvoy novel (Hardback)
zoom

Past Life - A DS McAvoy novel (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.99
Hardback 240 Pages / Published: 30/09/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

DS Aector McAvoy must face the dark, disturbing secrets of his past if he's to keep his family safe.

The clairvoyant is found with her tongue crudely carved out, a shard of blue crystal buried deep within her mangled ribcage.

The crime scene plunges DS Aector McAvoy back twelve years, to a case from when he was starting out. An investigation that proved a turning point in his life - but one he's tried desperately to forget.

To catch the killer, he must face his past. Face the terrible thing he did. But doing so also means facing the truth about his beloved wife Roisin, and the dark secrets she's keeping have the power to destroy them both completely.

David Mark brings Hull to dark, brutal life in this gripping novel in the critically acclaimed DS McAvoy series - a perfect pick for fans of Denise Mina, Val McDermid and Peter Robinson.

Publisher: Canongate Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780727890924
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 400 g
Dimensions: 223 x 145 x 21 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Polished prose, lovable recurring characters, and a stunning revelation make this a mystery to savor * Kirkus Reviews Starred Review *
Ian Rankin fans will be pleased * Publishers Weekly *
[Mark is] on the level of Scottish and English contemporaries such as DENISE MINA, VAL McDERMID, and PETER ROBINSON * Library Journal Starred Review of Cruel Mercy *
To call Mark's novels police procedurals is like calling the Mona Lisa a pretty painting * Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Cruel Mercy *
Strong prose, intriguing characters, and high tension make this a standout * Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Dead Pretty *
Excellent . . . weaves a complicated web of deception, betrayal, and violence as the action builds to a stunning conclusion * Publishers Weekly Starred Review of Taking Pity *
A dark, bloody, twisting tale of love, hate, and greed you can't put down * Kirkus Reviews Starred Review of Taking Pity *

You may also be interested in...

Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Annette Librarian

“Gripping!”

It was great to see the return of Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy in this new novel by David Mark. Entitled “Past Life” this one also explores Aector and Roisin’s early relationship, flashing back in alternate... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Superb writing and a tense and gory story”

If like me, you like to read a series from the beginning, then this book is actually a rather good place to begin. It goes back to the beginning of Aector McAvoy’s relationship with his now wife, Roisin and straddles... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.