Past Crimes - A Van Shaw Mystery (Paperback)
  • Past Crimes - A Van Shaw Mystery (Paperback)

Past Crimes - A Van Shaw Mystery (Paperback)

2 Reviews Write your review
Paperback Published: 05/03/2015
  • Can be ordered from our supplier

Delivered within 5 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

Come home, if you can...This title is suitable for fans of LEE CHILD's Jack Reacher and DENNIS LEHANE's Kenzie and Gennaro, an unputdownable series debut, from a thrilling new voice in American crime writing. "A zipline ride of a thriller, plummeting through the back alleys of Seattle ...Hamilton has crafted a compelling new hero in Van Shaw." (Gregg Hurwitz, New York Times bestseller). If my grandfather's letter had stopped at the comma, I would have tossed it in the trash...only the last three words mattered. If you can. That passed for please, in the old man's way of talking...If you can scared me a little. Meet Van Shaw - soldier, ex-con - as he returns to his native Seattle after a decade's self-imposed exile. Answering voices from his past, he finds a whole heap of trouble, and himself the prime suspect in the brutal attack on his grandfather. Drawn back into the violent, high-stakes life he tried to leave behind, he has to try and see right from wrong amid the secrets and resentments of those he was once closest to. Think Boston crime think Dennis Lehane, think Washington DC think George Pelecanos, think LA think Michael Connelly - and now, think Seattle think Glen Erik Hamilton.

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571314584

You may also be interested in...

“A highly recommended debut...”

I was really quite taken with this debut from Hamilton, I must confess. As regular readers of my reviews know, I am always keen to discover new American writers and what appealed to me about Hamilton was the way that... More

Paperback edition
19th March 2015
Helpful? Upvote 2

“This is a great thriller”

Tar abhaile, mas feidir leat.

This was the last sentence in the letter that Van Shaw received from his grandfather Dono. Written in Irish Gaelic, the language of Dono's childhood, the words after the comma said... More

Paperback edition
2nd April 2015
Helpful? Upvote 1

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot