Paris By Starlight (Hardback)
  • Paris By Starlight (Hardback)
zoom

Paris By Starlight (Hardback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 480 Pages / Published: 05/11/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

From the author of The Toymakers, this spellbinding tale of nocturnal life and magic in the streets of Paris tells of courage it takes to be different and follow your dreams.

Every city has its own magic...

Every night on their long journey to Paris from their troubled homeland, Levon's grandmother has read to them from a very special book. Called The Nocturne, it is a book full of fairy stories and the heroic adventures of their people who generations before chose to live by starlight.

And with every story that Levon's grandmother tells them in their new home, the desire to live as their ancestors did grows. And that is when the magic begins...

Nobody can explain why nocturnal water dogs start appearing at the heels of every citizen of Paris-by-Starlight like the loyal retainers they once were. There are suddenly night finches in the skies and the city is transforming: the Eiffel Tower lit up by strange ethereal flowers that drink in the light of the moon.

But not everyone in Paris is won over by the spectacle of Paris-by-Starlight. There are always those that fear the other, the unexplained, the strangers in our midst. How long can the magic of night rub up against the ordinariness of day? How long can two worlds occupy the same streets and squares before there is an outright war?

A magical new novel from the critically acclaimed bestselling author of The Toymakers, a must read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern.

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
ISBN: 9781529100457
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 582 g
Dimensions: 225 x 145 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Enchanting, beautiful and heart-breakingly relevant . . . so rich with dreamlike imageryand so full of genuine emotion that you want to savour every page as if it's the first and last time you'll ever read it * Culturefly *
A spellbinding tale of nocturnal life and magic in the streets of Paris tells of the courage it takes to be different and follow your dreams. * Waterstones *
Beautifully captures the hazy dissonance of storytelling and invention. * Guardian *
This is a skilful, human tale * SFX *

You may also be interested in...

The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Iron Widow
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Eye Of The World
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Once and Future Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Magical”

Paris By Starlight is the perfect magical read for this time of year. Levon and his family have travelled thousands of miles from their homeland which has been destroyed to the beautiful city of Paris in search of a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
Cathy Ann

“A magical tale, beautifully written”

A wintery tale which shows that fairytales can transform a world, hope can make impossible things true, but even magic can wither in the face of fear.

Paris-by-night is a captivating and imaginative world. The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
Carolyn Percy

“Poignantly resonant and relevant.”

Couldn't get into this as I could Gingerbread, but is definitely a case of "it's me not the book" or possibly "not the right book for me right now", as it is still beautifully written,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.