The Testaments out now
Paradoxical Life: Meaning, Matter, and the Power of Human Choice (Paperback)
  • Paradoxical Life: Meaning, Matter, and the Power of Human Choice (Paperback)
zoom

Paradoxical Life: Meaning, Matter, and the Power of Human Choice (Paperback)

(author)
£18.00
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 01/07/2011
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 4-6 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

For readers of Hofstadter's Goedel, Escher, Bach, a fascinating look at the hidden meaning in matter

What can a fingernail tell us about the mysteries of creation? In one sense, a nail is merely a hunk of mute matter, yet in another, it's an information superhighway quite literally at our fingertips. Every moment, streams of molecular signals direct our cells to move, flatten, swell, shrink, divide, or die. Andreas Wagner's ambitious new book explores this hidden web of unimaginably complex interactions in every living being. In the process, he unveils a host of paradoxes underpinning our understanding of modern biology, contradictions he considers gatekeepers at the frontiers of knowledge.

Though we tend to think of concepts in such mutually exclusive pairs as mind-matter, self-other, and nature-nurture, Wagner argues that these opposing ideas are not actually separate. Indeed, they are as inextricably connected as the two sides of a coin. Through a tour of modern biological marvels, Wagner illustrates how this paradoxical tension has a profound effect on the way we define the world around us. Paradoxical Life is thus not only a unique account of modern biology. It ultimately serves a radical-and optimistic-outlook for humans and the world we help create.

Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 9780300171525
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 386 g
Dimensions: 235 x 156 x 15 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Things that Nobody Knows
Added to basket
The Grand Design
Added to basket
Human Universe
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Brain That Changes Itself
Added to basket
How to Teach Quantum Physics to Your Dog
Added to basket
A Fire on the Moon
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Bad Science
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Sports Gene
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Alex's Adventures in Numberland
Added to basket
How Bad Are Bananas?
Added to basket
A Little History of Science
Added to basket
In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Predictably Irrational
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.