Out of the Mountain's Shadow: An emotional World War Two historical novel (Paperback)
  • Out of the Mountain's Shadow: An emotional World War Two historical novel (Paperback)
zoom

Out of the Mountain's Shadow: An emotional World War Two historical novel (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 10/06/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A secret from the war with the power to change one woman's future...

1939: War has broken out, and in Albania Bekim's family take in a Jewish family fleeing from Nazi Austria. The years of war will shape his life in unimaginable ways as Bekim grows to love Hannelore, doing everything in his power to protect her. But will he be enough to keep her safe?

2019: Following a shock redundancy, Ruth is taking an extended holiday in southern Italy where she befriends local Zak. When Zak's dying father asks them to solve a mystery from his past, Ruth leaps at the chance. Journeying through his homeland of Albania, Ruth and Zak race to find the sacred artefacts hidden in the mountains during the war.

A stunning and emotional novel of love and danger, perfect for fans of Lorna Cook and Rachel Hore.

Praise for Out of the Mountain's Shadow

'I have to say this is one of the best World War II Historical Fiction books I have read. I have not read any others that take place in Albania. I loved all the characters in the book' Reader review

'Powerful, gripping, and emotional. It's another look at the horrors of World War II and how simple ordinary people went to great lengths to protect those that were being persecuted. I highly recommend' Reader review

'Outstanding - the best book I have read in a long time. Before reading this book I knew nothing about the history of Albania but learnt from reading this novel and it has instilled me to find out more. The characters were all very likeable.' Reader review

'My first book by this author and what a revelation ... a tale of courage, hope and love. It's quite a harrowing journey, and I'm so delighted to have had the privilege to be on it. This book has been executed with such fine detail I have absolutely nothing but 5-star praise for this book' Reader review

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800323100
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm

You may also be interested in...

Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Ragged Heiress
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Mirage
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
A Place Called Home
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Destiny's Path
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Demelza
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Time to Remember
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
The Loving Cup
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Orphan's Dream
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Survivors”

Out Of The Mountain’s Shadow by Rose Alexander is a fabulous dual timeline novel that makes for compulsive reading. It is set in 2019 and World War II in Albania.
The stories run side by side as a present day... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.