Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Our Tiny, Useless Hearts (Paperback)
  • Our Tiny, Useless Hearts (Paperback)
zoom

Our Tiny, Useless Hearts (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 02/02/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Witty, observant, laugh-out-loud funny. It's rare to find a novel that keeps you laughing as this one does; the characters are sharply drawn and frighteningly familiar and the story never stops throwing up surprises. I loved it.' - Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project

Henry has ended his marriage to Caroline and run off with his daughter's teacher, Martha. Caroline, having shredded a wardrobe-full of Henry's suits, has gone after them.

Craig and Lesley have dropped over from next door to catch up on the fallout from Henry and Caroline's all-night row.

And Janice, Caroline's sister, is staying for the weekend to look after the children because Janice is the sensible one.

Then Craig enters through the bedroom window expecting a tryst with Caroline and finds Janice instead, Lesley storms in full of threats, Henry, Caroline and Martha arrive back from the airport in separate taxis - and let's not even get started on Brendan the pizza guy.

Janice can cope with all that. But when her ex-husband Alec knocks on the door things suddenly get complicated...

'A new Toni Jordan is always a special pleasure and her latest is a wonderful, witty treat of a novel: cutting and clever, and yet so very romantic, as though P.G. Wodehouse had satirised life in the suburbs.' - Liane Moriarty, author of The Husband's Secret

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781760293819
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 268 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Laugh-out-loud funny, yet with real emotion at its core, this is a sexy-smart rom-com about love and marriage for fans of Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project or David Nicholls' Us. I loved it. -- Hannah Richell, bestselling author of SECRETS OF THE TIDES * Australian Women's Weekly *
Toni Jordan, an elegant and informed writer who might also have shone as a stand-up comedian, is just the writer to catch the merriment of farce as it flies and flick it back between the book covers. * Sydney Morning Herald *
That Toni Jordan's new novel manages to be a full-length fiction that simultaneously operates as a hugely enjoyable farce and an emotionally rich domestic drama is a testament to her skills as a writer and the charm of her voice. * The Australian *
Three couples go under the lens in this clever and moving comedy about love and marriage. A hilarious and romantic treat * Who Weekly *
Jordan exploits her gift for dialogue to very funny effect... When Jordan is not being funny, her writing is crisp and clever... It's an unusual novel that is both ludicrous and bittersweet, but Our Tiny, Useless Hearts is exactly that. * Saturday Paper *
A highly entertaining romp through the complexities of modern relationships... Our Tiny Useless Hearts is loads of fun and clever too... A relationship drama with a deftly light touch, and will appeal to fans of romance and screwball comedy. * Bookseller and Publisher *
This is a funny, cleverly written story about the ups and downs of relationships and the fallout from indiscretion. The haphazard geometry of these suburban love triangles channels slapstick lunacy and farce so effectively, you can almost hear The Benny Hill Show theme playing in the background. * Qantas Magazine *
Brimming with sarcastic humour. * Guardian on ADDITION *
Really, really funny. -- Alexandra Heminsley * Radio 2 on ADDITION *
An unusual and intriguing novel, written with a very light touch. * Daily Mail on ADDITION *
Toni Jordan's debut is mature, witty and entertaining. * Irish Times on ADDITION *

You may also be interested in...

Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Christmas at the Beach Hut
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Librarian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Death of the Fronsac: A Novel
Added to basket
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heads You Win
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.99
Hardback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.