Our Fathers: A gripping, tender novel about fathers and sons from the highly acclaimed author (Paperback)
  • Our Fathers: A gripping, tender novel about fathers and sons from the highly acclaimed author (Paperback)
zoom

Our Fathers: A gripping, tender novel about fathers and sons from the highly acclaimed author (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 04/02/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

What kind of man kills his own family?
A gripping, tender novel about fathers and sons from the highly acclaimed author

'A restrained tour-de-force, profoundly unsettling, brilliantly executed, and deeply humane' Emily St. John Mandel, on The Followers

When Tom was eight years old, his father took a shotgun and shot his family: his wife, his son and baby daughter, before turning the gun on himself. Only Tom survived.

He left his tiny, shocked community on the island of Litta and the strained silence of his Uncle Malcolm's house while still a young boy. For twenty years he's tried to escape his past. Until now.

Without knowing how to ask, he needs answers - from his uncle, who should have known. From his neighbours, who think his father a decent man who 'just snapped'. From the memories that haunt the wild landscape of the Hebrides.

And from the silent ones who know more about what happened - and why - than they have ever dared admit.

By turns gripping, beautiful, devastating and tender, Our Fathers is a story about violence and redemption, control and love. With understated compassion and humour, Rebecca Wait gives a voice to the silenced and to the silences between men of few words.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529400069
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'With an immaculate sense of place and great compassion, Rebecca Wait reaches behind the headlines to tell a story of ordinary people in an extraordinary situation. Stark yet lyrical, subtly mysterious and always humane, Our Fathers is a novel that details the trauma that is left behind in the long, bleak aftermath of violence' * Nina Allan, author of The Dollmaker *
A deeply involving study of a controlling father and the devastation he wreaks. Wait evokes the isolated community where the violence unfolds with startling realism and compassion. A wise and moving novel. * Polly Clark *
Rebecca Wait is a master pageturner * Buchkultur *
Rebecca Wait moves between psychological novel, family novel and crime thriller. And remains as effectively sparse as the landscape of the Hebrides itself. Everything only rock and heath, moor and sea, in between fate, human * Berliner Zeitung *
Our Fathers is a compelling and insightful exploration of the way the effects of an atrocity ripple out to affect an entire community. Wait has the gift of finding the universal truths in extreme events and making them live on the page. Precise, restrained and disarmingly funny, this novel beguiles, shocks and charms. -- Ann Morgan, author of Beside Myself
In clear and tight writing, this is the riveting story of a few moments of violence and the decades of impact that follows. The novels makes very human what would otherwise be a headline. This is a writer to watch. -- Audrey Shulman, author of Theory of Bastards
A wonderful novel * Spectator *
Perceptive, generous exploration of ... trauma * Literary Review *
This is a beautifully realised novel, touching on the fallibility of memory and the unknowability of families, and gripping in its intensity. Outstanding. * The Mail on Sunday *
Gripping * The Irish Times, The Gloss *
An astonishingly powerful story of toxic masculinity, regret and the possibility of redemption. * Guardian *
Wait ... offers a thoughtful and wrenching portrait of a small Scottish town wracked by guilt over an incident of domestic violence. ... Fans of Patrick McCabe and Jon McGregor will appreciate Wait's melancholic snapshot * Publishers Weekly *
Memory, masculinity, and survivor's guilt are picked apart as the novel treads its path, dodging sensationalism and easy resolutions while evoking haunted, inarticulate people in a relentless landscape. A piercing, vivid, and humane story. * Kirkus Reviews *
Beautifully spare and profoundly upsetting... an absolutely captivating book * The Tablet *
Wait has written a novel that is powerful and insightful. Deeply compassionate and even its hardest to look at moments are aware, sensitive and humane. * New Books Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

The Flatshare
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Rosie Result
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Secret Service
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Binding
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Foundling
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Inside Story
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
False Value
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback

“A gripping, poignant novel”

I LOVED this book. You might expect a novel about a man returning after twenty years to the Scottish island where his mother and siblings were murdered by his father to be unrelentingly bleak; however, although bleak... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Lesley at Commercial Street Dundee

“Our Fathers”

When I read the synopsis for this book, I wasn't sure I would enjoy it. I thought it would be too dark and depressing. I couldn't have been more wrong.
The subject matter is dark but the writing is so... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.