Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Ordinary Wolves (Paperback)
  • Ordinary Wolves (Paperback)
zoom

Ordinary Wolves (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback Published: 02/06/2005
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of Jack London, Seth Kantner presents an Alaska far removed from majestic cliches of exotic travelogues and picture postcards. Kantner s vivid and poetic prose lets readers experience Cutuk Hawcly s life on the Alaskan plains through the character s own words feeling the pliers pinch of cold and hunkering in an igloo in blinding blizzards. Always in Cutuk s mind are his father Ab; the legendary hunter Enuk Wolfglove, and the wolves all living out lives on the unforgiving tundra. Jeered and pummeled by native children because he is white, Cutuk becomes a marginal participant in village life, caught between cultures. After an accident for which he is responsible, he faces a decision that could radically change his life. Like his young hero, Seth Kantner grew up in a sod igloo in the Alaska, and his experiences of wearing mukluks before they were fashionable, eating boiled caribou pelvis, and communing with the native tribes add depth and power to this acclaimed narrative."

Publisher: Milkweed Editions
ISBN: 9781571310477
Weight: 422 g
Dimensions: 219 x 141 x 26 mm

You may also be interested in...

Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Keeper
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Olive Kitteridge
Added to basket
Festive Spirits
Added to basket
£6.99
Hardback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Now We Shall Be Entirely Free
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.