Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Paperback)
  • Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Paperback)
zoom

Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 02/08/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

From the author of the acclaimed Wing Jones comes a 'break-up' book about a Japanese-American teenager, set in the Palm Springs desert, California. For fans of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything and Sara Barnard's Beautiful Broken Things. Sometimes a broken heart is all you need to set you free... Reiko loves the endless sky and electric colours of the Californian desert. It is a refuge from an increasingly claustrophobic life of family pressures and her own secrets. Then she meets Seth, a boy who shares a love of the desert and her yearning for a different kind of life. But Reiko and Seth both want something the other can't give them. As summer ends, things begin to fall apart. But the end of love can sometimes be the beginning of you...

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406382082
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
[...] this book ripped out my heart, stomped on it and then revived it with an electric jolt. But I loved every second of it. * booksfemme *
It's a very bittersweet story and it's also one of the few books that made me cry so much I had to stop for a moment and wipe away the tears at 4am. [...] This has become one of my favourite books and every time I think about it, my heart smiles. * thegalwholivesofbooks *
[Webber] has a real talent for creating nuanced teenage characters * The Bookseller *
Another author with a talent for connecting with teenage readers is Katherine Webber. Japanese-American Reiko navigates love and grief amid the claustrophobia of family expectations and peer pressure in Only Love Can Break Your Heart (Walker, GBP7.99), set in the California desert. It's familiar emotional territory for contemporary young adult fiction but Webber's complex, nuanced protagonist feels real and is memorable. * The Observer *
"It's familiar emotional territory for young adult fiction but Webber's complex, nuanced protagonist feels real and is memorable." * The Observer *

You may also be interested in...

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bluey: Goodnight Fruit Bat
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
If This Gets Out
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
These Violent Delights
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Added to basket
Bunny vs Monkey and the Supersonic Aye-Aye
Added to basket
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
The Hatmakers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Hatmakers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Big Shot (Book 16)
Added to basket
Holly at Exeter Roman Gate

“A book to break your heart, remind you of first love and how finding your own way can make you stronger. Amazing.”

I marvelled at Webber’s first novel ‘Wing Jones’ and thought it was achingly good. So, I was very keen to get my hands on her new novel, but also apprehensive.

I need not have worried. ‘Only Love Can Break Your... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27
Bookread2day

“Treasured every minute”

Beautifully written. I treasured every minute. I highly recommend this book to adults. I would like to thank walker books for sending me this wonderful novel to review. More of my review on bookread2day Wordpress com

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19
Louise Inniss

“Beautifully atmospheric.”

I was lucky enough to receive an early copy of Only Love Can Break Your Heart from Walker books, and I'm so so happy that I did.
Despite it being March 2018 and quite chilly when I started reading, I was... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.