Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
One of Us (Hardback)
  • One of Us (Hardback)
zoom

One of Us (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 11/09/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Dr. Sheridan Doyle-a fastidiously groomed and TV-friendly forensic psychologist-is the go-to shrink for the Philadelphia District Attorney's office whenever a twisted killer's mind eludes other experts. But beneath his Armani pinstripes, he's still Danny Doyle, the awkward, terrified, bullied boy from a blue-collar mining family, plagued by panic attacks and haunted by the tragic death of his little sister and mental unravelling of his mother years ago.

Returning to a hometown grappling with its own ghosts, Danny finds a dead body at the infamous Lost Creek gallows where a band of rebellious Irish miners was once executed. Strangely, the body is connected to the wealthy family responsible for the miners' deaths. Teaming up with veteran detective Rafe, a father-like figure from his youth, Danny-in pursuit of a killer-comes dangerously close to startling truths about his family, his past, and himself.

In this masterfully told psychological thriller in the vein of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl, the past and present collide to put Lost Creek's long-lived ghosts to bed.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781476755878
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 458 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"With deft prose, authenticity of character, and sheer tenderness, O'Dell...is the absolute master of her craft." -- The Denver Post
"Poignant...achingly beautiful prose...remarkable." -- San Diego Union
"Rich, compassionate storytelling." -- Entertainment Weekly
"Triumphantly fulfilling the promise of her bestselling debut, O'Dell examines the tangled, enduring bonds of family and community in a Pennsylvania mining town...[a] searing, tragic vision of working-class people...Powerful and uncompromising, yet radiant with love, this one's pretty close to a masterpiece." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Riveting storytelling and genuine emotional punch...excellent." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"A masterfully unfolded, absolutely engrossing story as smart and sassy as it is wise...love [is] at the heart of it all, in crisp, insightful prose that sweeps the reader along. A knockout." -- Booklist (starred review)
"Her hard-hitting, well-crafted story packs a wallop." -- Library Journal
"Another gem." -- People
"A well-written psychological thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell." * Library Journal ("Summer Suspense" spotlight) *
"An evocative novel about murder and intrigue in a small mining town in which secrets and lies from the past threaten to destroy the very fabric of the community. Compulsively readable." -- Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of ORPHAN TRAIN
"A gritty tale of vengeance." * Kirkus Reviews *
"A fearless exploration of the line between mental illness and true evil, a place many thriller writers visit but without the kind of fearless insights O'Dell reveals in this powerful novel." * The New York Times Book Review *

You may also be interested in...

Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Librarian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
One Day in December
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.