The One-in-a-Million Boy: The touching novel of a 104-year-old woman's friendship with a boy you'll never forget... (Hardback)
  • The One-in-a-Million Boy: The touching novel of a 104-year-old woman's friendship with a boy you'll never forget... (Hardback)
zoom

The One-in-a-Million Boy: The touching novel of a 104-year-old woman's friendship with a boy you'll never forget... (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 05/04/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

THE ONE-IN-A-MILLION BOY by Monica Wood is for anyone who loves to laugh, cry, and think about how extraordinary ordinary life can be. Not to be missed by readers who loved THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY, ELIZABETH IS MISSING or THE SHOCK OF THE FALL. 'A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations' Daily Mail

The story of your life never starts at the beginning. Don't they teach you anything at school?

So says 104-year-old Ona to the 11-year-old boy who's been sent to help her out every Saturday morning. As he refills the bird feeders and tidies the garden shed, Ona tells him about her long life, from first love to second chances. Soon she's confessing secrets she has kept hidden for decades.

One Saturday, he doesn't show up. Ona starts to think he's not so special after all, but then his father Quinn arrives on her doorstep, determined to finish his son's good deed. The boy's mother is not so far behind. Ona is set to discover that even at her age the world can surprise you, and that sometimes sharing a loss is the only way to find yourself again.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472228352
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 548 g
Dimensions: 220 x 152 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Curl up and enjoy this bewitching novel * Woman & Home *
A lovely, quirky novel about misfits across generations * Daily Mail *
Razor sharp while packing a heart-wrenchingly powerful emotional punch... Beautifully written, cleverly constructed, at times hilariously funny and ultimately deeply affecting - this should be a smash * Sunday Mirror *
Delightful. It's a hugely engaging look at how lives can be remade in the most unexpected of ways * Sunday Express *
A whimsical and bittersweet story about finding friendship in the most unlikely places * Good Housekeeping *
Heartwarming... beautifully sketched characters... life-affirming ***** * Stylist *
This inspirational tale of friendship, world records and following dreams is a stunner * Heat *
Wise, witty and incredibly moving... magical and life-affirming. I was utterly charmed -- Polly Samson
A big, warm, winning treat of a novel, wholly believable but touched with magic... Sharply observed, deftly constructed and pithily told -- Alison Mercer
A beautifully told story * Sun *
Wood's prose sparkles with lyrical descriptions and sharp observations about people and their motivations... But the over-arching theme running through it all concerns second chances. Even when you're older than a century, life still has the capacity to surprise you * Herald Glasgow *
The boy is one of my favourite literary characters ever! I thought it was a gem of a novel, heartbreaking and heartwarming. Beautifully written, with characters that you want to keep by your side -- Adele Parks
A magical, beautifully written story about the healing power of friendship, music, and unexpected, generation-spanning connections. As emotionally resonant as THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME -- Christina Baker Kline
A beguiling, heart-wrenching and funny book... Absolutely gorgeous * Psychologies *
It's a pleasure to linger with her elegant prose, keen eye, and grace of thought * Reader's Digest *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Windsor Knot
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd.
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sandra Foy

“If you only read one book this year, make it this one.”

When I received this book from the publisher, some of the advance praise compared it to Elizabeth Is Missing and The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry, neither of which I particularly enjoyed, so it sat on my shelf... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 48

“A beautifully told, moving tale”

I received a copy of this book from the publishers and this is my opinion of the book.

Ona Viktus is 104 and is getting along perfectly well on her own, thank you very much. But when a boy scout arrives at her house... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 46

“This is beautifully crafted book. Both heartwarming and heartbreaking. A magical read”

The one thing about this book is that it is different. It will divide opinion on whether people love it or not as much. I will state here that I was captivated by the story all the way through.
Miss Ona Vitkus is one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.